Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 16, 2010, 05:29 PM
TRTW's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Smith AB
Posts: 20
Default help requested for video issue

Ok all you experts out there..... I am stuck with this one.

My desktop PC has started having video issues. The display would flicker black at times and gain a serious red and green tint. It used to take a few minutes after boot up but now it happens directly. It doesn't matter if I am in a game, running a browser or just idle at the desktop. The system has run stable before this for close to two years.

System specs are in my signature. My Windows was completely updated and I started this process with ATI 10.6 video driver.

To troubleshoot I picked up a HD5830 card and swapped it in but that didn't change the problem. I then formatted and went with a fresh install with no changes. I swapped my 4870X2 back in and tried some older drivers as well. Of course I started to think my monitor was dying so I connected my computer to my Sharp television which after a few minutes started to show the same problems. Now the real kicker to all of this is that if I connect my laptop (generic Dell garbage) to either my monitor or my television I still get the same flickering and color tinting. The display on the laptop itself is fine and my tv looks ok from my satellite but any computer I connect to the monitor causes it to instantly have issues.

Can a source signal damage a display? I am not an expert but this seems unlikely to me. I suppose my motherboard AND my monitor can have issues togehter but this also seems unlikely as well. Have any of you forum readers seen something like this before? Any suggestions would greatly be appreciated
__________________
Asus Crosshair IV Formula / AMD 965 @ 4.0ghz w/Corsair H70 / 8gb Corsair 1033MHz / 6950 x2 w/Accelero Extreme / Corsair HX1000w / Seagate Momentus XT 500gb / Samsung 305T Plus / Win7 64bit
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 16, 2010, 05:42 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 1,226

My System Specs

Default

I'm definitely no expert, but here's some ideas anyway ;)

What about the cable and connectors? I know a bad VGA cable can do things like this, although I don't know what a bad DVI does. From your description, I don't see anything about a cable swap.
__________________
"The computer programmer says they should drive the car around the block and see if the tire fixes itself." [src]
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 16, 2010, 06:06 PM
TRTW's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Smith AB
Posts: 20
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by frontier204 View Post
I'm definitely no expert, but here's some ideas anyway ;)

What about the cable and connectors? I know a bad VGA cable can do things like this, although I don't know what a bad DVI does. From your description, I don't see anything about a cable swap.
hmmm good idea, but I did use a different cable to connect to the TV then the one I used for the monitor.

Thanks for the help though, all suggestions are appreciated
__________________
Asus Crosshair IV Formula / AMD 965 @ 4.0ghz w/Corsair H70 / 8gb Corsair 1033MHz / 6950 x2 w/Accelero Extreme / Corsair HX1000w / Seagate Momentus XT 500gb / Samsung 305T Plus / Win7 64bit
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 16, 2010, 06:23 PM
BrainEater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,509
Default

From the troubleshooting procedure you describe ,I'm kind of at a loss.

I had a monitor do this , it was the db9 connector on the monitor (bad solder).

----

Yes a 'source' signal line can cause hardware failure if say , one of the signal lines got shorted to say , +12v.

The only advice I can give , is to use the new video card , with all new adapters/cords , and another monitor ( if you can get one. ).

That 'should' eliminate everything downstream of the video card....if it still does it , it's down to motherboard or BIOS....

__________________
Intel 3930k /rIVe/32 Gb vengeance LP/Nvidia TITAN/760/760/Intel 520's/WD raptors/etc...
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Build - Comments Requested If You Build It New Builds 9 March 24, 2010 01:05 PM
Yet another advice requested thread OTZ Video Cards 11 September 21, 2009 04:41 PM
My WC system to be expanded...critique requested RussianRedScorpion Water Cooling 19 April 28, 2008 09:30 AM
Video card dead? DVI cable issue? Matty D Troubleshooting 10 March 15, 2008 12:54 PM
advice requested on new monitor rob123 Display Units 10 June 2, 2007 06:57 PM