Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 23, 2010, 11:31 AM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,916

My System Specs

Default RMA PSU for that capacitor whine?

You guys think Antec would accept an RMA for that annoying high-pitched wine?

I know it doesn't typically mean anything is wrong performance wise, but it's just extremely annoying. I've had it since June 2008 but stopped using it a while ago and got the HX850. Recently tried to sell it to a friend but he returned it back to me cause the wine was too loud.

Apparently has a 5 year warranty though, so I'd assume it's still covered. I'm just not sure it qualifies for RMA. I just don't want to send it in and then end up having to pay them a bunch of money, or worse, get back another "whiny" unit.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 23, 2010, 11:40 AM
BootlegUsher's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 453
Default

Before you can RMA it you need to tell them what the problem is to get your RMA ticket. If you explain the problem and they give you the ticket, then you should be good to go.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 23, 2010, 12:29 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 33
Default

Yea, if it is fairly loud then it cant hurt to create an RMA asking for one, worst they'll say is 'im sorry but we cannot exchange that item for that reason'. Worth a shot though.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 23, 2010, 03:19 PM
Silvgearx's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,106

My System Specs

Default

Antec RMA is freaking awesome. Should be no problem. Since were Canadian they will redirect you to sent it within Canada.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 23, 2010, 10:44 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Yes, they will allow you to RMA it for that. And it is coil whine, not capacitor whine. Capacitors almost never whine, and when they do, it is a sign of imminent failure.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 24, 2010, 06:08 AM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,916

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 5ILVgeARX View Post
Antec RMA is freaking awesome. Should be no problem. Since were Canadian they will redirect you to sent it within Canada.
Awesome. That's good to hear.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zero82z View Post
Yes, they will allow you to RMA it for that. And it is coil whine, not capacitor whine. Capacitors almost never whine, and when they do, it is a sign of imminent failure.
My mistake. Always forget what it's called exactly. However I plugged it into a s939 AMD system from ages ago, and it was totally silent...

Guess I need to put more load on it though. I'll have to wire it into my PC and make sure it's still noisy before attempting the RMA.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old June 24, 2010, 08:39 AM
BrainEater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,513
Default

Coil whine is easy to fix yourself.

Get some acrylic conformal coating and apply to all the coils.Problem solved.

I just did this to a motherboard , thing is perfectly silent now.

__________________
Intel 3930k /rIVe/32 Gb vengeance LP/Nvidia TITAN/760/760/Intel 520's/WD raptors/etc...
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old June 24, 2010, 10:22 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BrainEater View Post
Coil whine is easy to fix yourself.

Get some acrylic conformal coating and apply to all the coils.Problem solved.

I just did this to a motherboard , thing is perfectly silent now.

It would be a bit stupid to do that with a PSU that is still under warranty.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old June 24, 2010, 12:52 PM
BrainEater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,513
Default

Feh !

No-one will ever know.

It's a 5 min job , and you can easily remove the 'warantee void' sticker.

If you want to wait for 4-6 weeks , fine don't listen to me , RMA it....waste of postage if you ask me.

Coil whine on anything is a result of cheap/poor construction on the coils.They are supposed to be properly varnished . Another example of 'cheapest-wins'.

__________________
Intel 3930k /rIVe/32 Gb vengeance LP/Nvidia TITAN/760/760/Intel 520's/WD raptors/etc...
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old June 24, 2010, 03:37 PM
Silvgearx's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,106

My System Specs

Default

Not at all, I sent in a PSU to Ontario and got it back in 1 week time. Considering I am located in rural Alberta.

They sent it back with UPS and these rock in my location.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Overclock to get rid of coil whine? Technokat Video Cards 0 December 2, 2009 12:35 PM
coil whine issues (pic) lexmark1 Power Supplies 11 May 29, 2009 07:19 AM
Leaked Capacitor in my PSU? hen555 Troubleshooting 1 May 19, 2009 02:45 PM
High Pitched whine + GTX280 Eagle Eye Video Cards 23 November 25, 2008 11:08 PM
RMA howto and RMA list qwerty Suggestions & Feedback 4 November 8, 2007 02:22 PM