Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 20, 2010, 05:47 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 221

My System Specs

Default 1090t goes out after 12 hours

hello all,
so i bought my rig and everything, i didn't do work log because i was too concentrated on building it nd forgot to take pics but all post some finished pics.

now the problem:
so after 2 days i start to o.c frirst i put my 1090t at 3700 mghz
then i ran amd's stress test and recorded my temps from 3 diffrent sources all stating 35c max heat...
how do i know its the cpu causing the problem? well i see it on the asus crosshair 4 motherboard from the recognition led's and on normal startup all the led's will light up one after the other checking all the hardware.... but when i turned it on the cpu led stays on....
i have a cooler master 212 cooler with a dual fan configuration. the 2 fans are coolermaster r4 2000rpm fans + the 200ml exhaust fan ontop of the sniper black edition case + the 200ml fan blowing air onto the gpu and cpu....
so obiously heat wasn't a problem,

i uninstalled the heatsing checked for any visible damage I.E bent pins
nothing so did the cpu just short circuit all of a sudden?
and what should i do if it did because then that was just a unlucky cpu that had a ticking time bomb inside of it....

edit: the monitor displays no signal also which is normal if the cpu doesn't work right?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 20, 2010, 05:49 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,418

My System Specs

Default

Try unplugging the PSU, and see if it will post once you plug it back in....
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 20, 2010, 06:13 PM
AmuseMe's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lloydminster & Saskatoon
Posts: 1,586
Default

Totally off topic but your using ml instead of mm for your fan measurements. You dont measure fans by volume
__________________
DEAD CA$H
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 20, 2010, 07:59 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 221

My System Specs

Default

woops didn't see that danm typo,
at sswilson: tried it...
so... it just must be one of those unlucky 1 and 10000000000000 processor that just randomly goes out...?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 20, 2010, 08:39 PM
stoanee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lacombe Alberta
Posts: 3,249

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LacrosseTown View Post
woops didn't see that danm typo,
at sswilson: tried it...
so... it just must be one of those unlucky 1 and 10000000000000 processor that just randomly goes out...?

Sounds like it. I had a 7850 that I had barely used and when I sold it to another forum member it was DOA. It was subsequently RMA'd.
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 20, 2010, 08:50 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

how the heck,besides mad voltage or unstable power thingie on the mobo/psu/wall, do you kill a chip? :)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old June 20, 2010, 09:02 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _dangtx_ View Post
how the heck,besides mad voltage or unstable power thingie on the mobo/psu/wall, do you kill a chip? :)
You don't. If it fails, then it was already defective from the start.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old June 21, 2010, 01:18 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 221

My System Specs

Default

here is the convo i was having with the guy from ncix:
title: cpu doesn't work.

me :
"hello, my computer was working for 2 day arrouned 12 hours, the next day when i go to turn it on, the asus cross hair 4 motherboard doesn't post and stays stuck on the cpu LED... so i ininstall the cooler make sure there are no bent pins, everything is fine, my temps where way below at 23-35
my cpu is a : amd X6 1090t black edition
so, did the cpu just die?"

his response:
"Hi Nathan,

I'd suggest the following to troubleshoot your system:
1) Plug the system directly into a different power outlet. We want to eliminate the power bar,if any, or the power outlet is bad.
** Make sure to have a PC speaker plugged into the front panel header on the motherboard.
2) Remove the RAM from the motherboard and see if the computer reports back with an error beep. If it does, try booting the system with only one stick of RAM at a time. One stick of the pair may be bad.
3) Completely remove any expansion cards. We want to eliminate them as the source of the error. Try powering on the system.
4) Unplug any hard drives or optical drives. We want to make sure none of them are causing the system to hang. Try powering on the system.
5) Reseat all possible cables inside the computer again to make sure none may still be loose.
6) Clear the CMOS by the jumper on the motherboard.
7) Try all the components outside the case to check to see if it may be shorting inside the case"

is it really neccesary to trouble shoot all of this? If it wasn't the cpu then the red led light wouldn't stay on...
edit: do you think he fully read what i said? becuase i stated the cpu led light stays on... and in the asus manual it says: "post state ked's check key componenets (cpu ram vga cards, and hdd) in sequence during motherboard booting process. if an error is found the led next ti the error device will continue lighting until the poblem is solved....

so obviously everything but the cpu is working...

Last edited by LacrosseTown; June 21, 2010 at 01:25 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old June 21, 2010, 01:31 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,418

My System Specs

Default

Pretty standard request, and more than reasonable. The CPU light indicates that it's unable to post the CPU which could be caused by any # of things outside of the cpu.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old June 21, 2010, 01:36 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 221

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
Pretty standard request, and more than reasonable. The CPU light indicates that it's unable to post the CPU which could be caused by any # of things outside of the cpu.
so i should do all those steps?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What's your hours per year on your display unit? wonton1017 Display Units 5 March 8, 2010 11:02 AM
Don't Buy Newegg Peak Hours! Luckk Off Topic 16 November 26, 2009 03:23 PM
[FS] HD 4890 only 10 hours use MarkOne Buy/Sell & Trade 10 November 25, 2009 11:34 AM
24 WU in 24 hours Putz HardwareCanucks F@H Team 12 September 11, 2009 03:05 PM
Free 24 hours of L4D IRQ Conflict Gaming 13 May 2, 2009 09:45 AM