Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 7, 2010, 11:41 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 165
Default Gigabyte P55A-UD3 won't boot up

There's a problem guys. For some odd reason, my motherboard is now stuck hanging in the POST screen.

So this is what happened. Earlier today, I put Windows 7 on my USB flash disk to install on my computer. I went to the BIOS to change the boot order to USB HDD, but for some odd reason the motherboard won't recognize the flash drive and boot from it. So I went to the hard drive boot list to change the order so that the USB flash drive is on top of my SSD. Once I restarted the computer, everything booted up fine and Windows 7 proceeded to install. Once the installation was completed, the computer restarted as normal, but now it just hangs after the POST screen. It's at the Serial ATA AHCI BIOS list and it shows the first device on controller bus#00, which is my blu-ray reader. It just hangs right there. It doesn't list the SSD or any other components. I tried to press "delete" to access the BIOS, but it doesn't work. I restarted the computer many times and even removed the flash drive, but the mobo will attempt to load, but it'll eventually get stuck on that screen.

So what do I do right now?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 8, 2010, 05:06 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,826

My System Specs

Default

un plug the blu-ray reader. and try it with nothing but the ssd and the usb flash . if this does not work then clear CMOS adn start it with just the ssd and usb stick. but i think it's your blue-ray from what it sounds like.
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 8, 2010, 02:59 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 165
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gingerbee View Post
un plug the blu-ray reader. and try it with nothing but the ssd and the usb flash . if this does not work then clear CMOS adn start it with just the ssd and usb stick. but i think it's your blue-ray from what it sounds like.
Why would you say that? There were no problems before when I installed Windows 7 from a disc.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 10, 2010, 03:47 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 165
Default

Help?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 10, 2010, 05:40 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,648
Default

I'm going to voice what was previously said: unplug all SATA devices and see what happens. It could be the system is looking for a boot disk where there is none.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 10, 2010, 05:49 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,826

My System Specs

Default

I think it's stuck at the blue-ray unplug every thing. then boot board to see if you can get into the bios if you can let it run in there for a few mins, then start to plug things back in 1 at a time.

then when it stops working you have found the problem. I think it's a peripheral. funny things is i do this all day long trouble shoot ( and i hate it) here to help

"bus#00, which is my blu-ray reader. It just hangs right there". this is why when every a peripheral hangs there a communication ( it's not talking to the board or vice versa ) this is my thinking from what you have said.
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old June 10, 2010, 03:04 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 165
Default

I'll try that later tonight. Is it odd that my Gigabyte P55A-UD3 didn't came with a jumper? How am I suppose to reset the CMOS settings as well? I think I have to do that in order to resolve all potential issues with my mobo. Someone told me to consider removing the CMOS battery, but I'm not sure how to do that. Also, how do I put it back in after taking it out?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old June 10, 2010, 03:16 PM
0o0 0o0 is offline
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Toronto ON
Posts: 855

My System Specs

Default

There's a little clip thingy, push it back and the button battery will pop right out. Get a conductive object and short the cmos clear jumpers. Wait 10 seconds, push the battery back in.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old June 10, 2010, 03:33 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 165
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 0o0 View Post
There's a little clip thingy, push it back and the button battery will pop right out. Get a conductive object and short the cmos clear jumpers. Wait 10 seconds, push the battery back in.
Sorry, but I don't understand what you mean.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old June 10, 2010, 03:42 PM
0o0 0o0 is offline
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Toronto ON
Posts: 855

My System Specs

Default

Alright then, I'll simplify it down a bit more for you
-look at the battery
-push back the metal clip holding it in place
-catch it when it pops out, place it aside
-short the CMOS clear jumper with a conductive object for 10 seconds
-push battery back in with the text facing up and rough side down
-done :)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need help overclocking my Core i5 750 and Gigabyte P55A-UD3 lsquare Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 6 April 12, 2010 07:11 AM
Request Review: Gigabyte MA770-UD3 jcmaz Reviews & Articles from the Web 14 March 24, 2010 06:20 AM
Gigabyte p55a USB3 Speedstep Problem AdoP Troubleshooting 4 March 23, 2010 02:12 PM
Major differences between Gigabyte P55A-UD4P and UD3? lsquare CPU's and Motherboards 4 February 3, 2010 03:02 PM
Help overclocking my Gigabyte GA-MA770-UD3 Nateiscool Troubleshooting 12 December 22, 2009 08:52 PM