Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 6, 2010, 09:20 AM
BobLoblaw's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Campbell River, Vancouver Island, Canada
Posts: 90

My System Specs

Default Win7 Partitioning Problem

HALP!

I recently installed Win7 on a new 500 gig hard drive. Being the clever sort I am I wanted a 60 gig OS Partition and a second partition using the rest of the hard drive.. Win7, being the clever OS that it is, decided I really must have wanted to leave that front 60 gigs empty and installed to the second partition.

What's the easiest way for my to move my install to the front of the hard drive?

I've already tried the built in Win7 back-up tool to make an image (Which actually works quite well and fast) but it's a little too literal. It imaged the exact form of my hard drive so I still have the partition problem.

Will all cloning software do the same thing?

Should I just cut my losses and re-install?

Lemme know what youse guys think.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 6, 2010, 10:19 AM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,903

My System Specs

Default

It would probably be easiest/fastest to just re-install, assuming you haven't installed too many apps.

You could try this though: GParted -- Welcome to move things around. However, I'd strongly suggest having anything important backed up before doing so.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 6, 2010, 10:21 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,531

My System Specs

Default

Doesn't Win7 allow you to remove the partition information from the unused partition and then recover that unused space to the leftover partition?
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 6, 2010, 12:09 PM
BobLoblaw's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Campbell River, Vancouver Island, Canada
Posts: 90

My System Specs

Default

Thanks for the ideas.

jdrom17: Gparted worked! I needed to run the Win7 install to get it to recognize where it had moved. But now Win7 fails to rebuild my desktop when I log in. . Very strange. I think you are correct and it's time to cut my losses and re-install.

sswilson: As far as I can tell Win7 disk management only works for unpartitioned space beyond the OS partition. I can't get it to merge the 60 gigs at the front of the drive but I've made and de-made a couple partitions beyond the OS.

Thanks again guys!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 6, 2010, 02:40 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,903

My System Specs

Default

Rebuild your desktop? What do you mean by that?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 6, 2010, 03:50 PM
BobLoblaw's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Campbell River, Vancouver Island, Canada
Posts: 90

My System Specs

Default

I dunno actually!

After I used Gpart, I needed to repair my installation. After repairing I was able to boot up to my log in screen. When I entered my password it went to the standard loading screen but had "Preparing Desktop" and after about 5 minutes it just went to a light blue screen, in the lower left it had the current build of my Win7 and I had a mouse icon but that was it. I could Ctrl-Alt-Delete and get to my task manager but nothing was running.. I could even log back out and back in where it would "Prepare" my desktop again.. After futzing with it for 20 minutes I gave up..

I figure win7 didn't like my partition move and that was it's subtle way of telling me. :)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old June 6, 2010, 07:59 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,903

My System Specs

Default

Very interesting. Sounds like your user profile got messed up somehow. It's probably fixable, but who knows if there will be other problems afterwards.

If you want to try, when it gets to this screen, bring up Task Manager, File > New Task > compmgmt.msc. Go to Local Users, right click Users and then New User. Make some user account then log out and log in with the new username. If that account is broken too, then I guess the default user profile is corrupted, and you're basically SOL
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old June 6, 2010, 10:29 PM
BobLoblaw's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Campbell River, Vancouver Island, Canada
Posts: 90

My System Specs

Default

That sounded like a great idea! Too bad I've already formatted and re-installed. It's so painless now compared to XP. Also, Lifehacker.com has their 2010 app pack that you just fire and forget, installs every app I require with one or two clicks. Gotta love living in the future!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old June 7, 2010, 07:30 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,903

My System Specs

Default

Maybe next time then!

Least you got everything working.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Win7 or Motherboard? DrPepper O/S's, Drivers & General Software 15 December 9, 2009 02:31 PM
Win7 on Raid 0 Saterial O/S's, Drivers & General Software 0 July 2, 2009 08:51 PM
Question re: partitioning a USB drive Caznoob Troubleshooting 3 June 2, 2009 03:39 PM
Win7 not showing..... kruzn4evr O/S's, Drivers & General Software 6 May 28, 2009 12:31 PM
Resolution problem with Win7 xXxRithxXx O/S's, Drivers & General Software 6 May 5, 2009 07:24 PM