Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old May 24, 2010, 06:25 PM
Top Prospect

Default Netbook keyboard and water damage

Hi all,

I was given a netbook at work that was written off due to water damage. It runs, though it doesn't seem to charge. Some of the keys work and some don't (I think it was coffee as a lot of keys are sticky). Now, the keyboard that could replace the one on it is only $32 on ebay, so if the thing runs and swapping the keyboard is all I need to do to get it running it's worth it. Now, I am new to note and netbooks alike, so here's my questions:

If some of the keys work, does that mean swapping the keyboard should work? Or could it be the connections to the keyboard, making it not worth it? Is there a way to test this without buying the other keyboard first?

At only $32 I am pretty sure I am just going to bite the bullet and take the loss if it turns out that it is more than just the keyboard. If it's the case I'll put it on here or ebay for parts and make sure I get enough to cover the board hehe.

Thanks all.
Old May 24, 2010, 06:47 PM
Hall Of Fame

a HB pencil is cheaper, just retrace the grid with pencil on film after opening keyboard.

yes kb fail most likly thats the issue
Old May 24, 2010, 06:51 PM
Banned
F@H

My System Specs

Most likely the keyboard itself is damaged and a replacement would fix the issue. However, the charging issue is a much more significant concern. I suggest you use the netbook with an external keyboard for a while and see if that was just some kind of fluke. If it actually won't charge then the thing is pretty much a brick, since I doubt you would be able to fix it unless you're an electronics engineer.
Old May 24, 2010, 08:13 PM
Top Prospect