Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 19, 2010, 10:49 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 38
Default Mobo and case problem

I recently purchased an Antec 300 for my HP Pavlion 16552f since I've been doing quite a lot of upgrades on it. My mobo is a micro-ATX and I noticed that it doesnt fit in the case though it's suppose to be backwards compatible. I noticed the reason for this is that the Antec 300 case has more holes for usbs then my previous case and on my mobo I have a VGA which the Antec 300 case does not have room for.

I was curious, is it possible to remove that the piece for the mobo and replace it with my old one. I know I'm not precised but not sure what that piece is called. If so how would I do this?



Basically, if you look at that picture, I want to remove the thingy that the arrows are pointing backwards.


Edit: I thought about pushing it from the outside but not sure if its screwed or whatnot.

Last edited by Scripter; May 19, 2010 at 10:59 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 19, 2010, 11:14 AM
Lpfan4ever's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,763

My System Specs

Default

You can pop it in towards the inside, it's held in by small metal tabs. My Compaq was the same. However, in my case, it was REALLY tight and took a lot of force to push it out. Just push along the edges on the outside and it should start to come off.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by encorp
I don't know, maybe if you get a big enough compacticator you can put it in your butt and name yourself "sexbuttplug"...
Code:
<martin_metal_88> I think I am gonna sell my server
...
<firebane> i will offer pereniums mom
<firebane> slightly used
<Keltron> slightly is an understatement
<LPfan4ever> Who're you kidding...slightly?
<martin_metal_88> peri's mom, slightly used? lol...

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 19, 2010, 11:18 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 38
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lpfan4ever View Post
You can pop it in towards the inside, it's held in by small metal tabs. My Compaq was the same. However, in my case, it was REALLY tight and took a lot of force to push it out. Just push along the edges on the outside and it should start to come off.
That what I did thanks. Stupid HP, they made it so its snaps onto and I cant make it snap. Without it snaping I can screw my mobo :@ Thank god I dont do business with HP anymore!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 19, 2010, 11:20 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

well, whenever you buy from the ieks of the big names, expect stuff to be/potentially propietary

nothing new. if it doesnt hold on properly, what happens when you install the mobo 'into' it? does it push it and stays or it fingles around? if so, dont use it
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 19, 2010, 11:22 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 38
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _dangtx_ View Post
well, whenever you buy from the ieks of the big names, expect stuff to be/potentially propietary

nothing new. if it doesnt hold on properly, what happens when you install the mobo 'into' it? does it push it and stays or it fingles around? if so, dont use it
I cant "snap" it in. What Im taking is taking all the little snapping pins and bending them. I'll see if it'll work or not.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old May 19, 2010, 12:51 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,949
Default

lay your back I/O header's face to face and see if any difference between the old/new. then make adjustments
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old May 19, 2010, 12:54 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,828

My System Specs

Default

time a screw driver and some banging it always works for me it will go in just need some negotiation
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old May 19, 2010, 01:04 PM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,999

My System Specs

Default

Or just don't use it? The back IO panel isn't exactly required to be there in order for your PC to work...
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
memory or mobo problem kanganova Troubleshooting 8 January 26, 2010 03:17 PM
[WTB] Need small case for mATX mobo yamawho Buy/Sell & Trade 4 March 22, 2009 07:56 AM
Asus P5K Premium wifi mobo problem kruzn4evr CPU's and Motherboards 5 July 4, 2008 12:28 PM
Can shorting a mobo, on the case, ruin that said mobo? mattlef CPU's and Motherboards 25 April 23, 2008 03:00 PM
problem with p150 case... omgwtf Cases 16 April 7, 2007 02:34 PM