Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old May 11, 2010, 01:45 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,072

My System Specs

Default

Seeing as it's the same system, we'll talk about it here. Did you check the socket to see if you got any thermal paste in it?
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old May 11, 2010, 03:44 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 21
Default

Yup. All clean. Thank goodness for RadioShack.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old May 11, 2010, 04:52 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 21
Default

Well, I tried the different memory configurations: 1 strip and 2 in different sockets. I also put the graphics card in the blue slot, connected a hard drive, and cleared the CMOS. No luck.

Unfortunately, building machines isn't my trade so I don't have any spare parts I can try. So, unless there are any other suggestions, I'm going to RMA the mobo and case.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old May 11, 2010, 08:28 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 125

My System Specs

Default

Couple quick questions. "Flipped the switch?" That's the switch on the psu?
How are you trying to start the system? Jumping the pins on the front panel header?
Does the power supply fan spin?

The green light on the motherboard is generally for +5VSB, just means that standby power is on and working.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old May 11, 2010, 08:35 PM
0o0 0o0 is offline
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Toronto ON
Posts: 855

My System Specs

Default

Is the mobo outputting any beep codes? If you can confirm that the psu works (try it in a different system), everything has been installed correctly and the mobo still doesn't beep, then the mobo's dead. In this case, you may want to try the mobo with just the cpu (no video card or ram) just to make sure.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old May 11, 2010, 09:16 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

check the pins on the mobo, and the under whatever you call them pin kissers for cpu.


without any spare parts, it can be anything, really. last id doubt would be the cpu, but even that has one chance in so may of coming out dead
so rmaing mobo may not solve it. go to a mom and pops and beg for 10 mins of their time :)
or find a good samarithan in your area who also is on here.quite the good folks we have in here, generally :)
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old May 12, 2010, 07:32 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 21
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by grimx133 View Post
Couple quick questions. "Flipped the switch?" That's the switch on the psu?
How are you trying to start the system? Jumping the pins on the front panel header?
Does the power supply fan spin?

The green light on the motherboard is generally for +5VSB, just means that standby power is on and working.
I swtiched the power button on the PSU. No fan on either the PSU or CPU.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old May 12, 2010, 07:46 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 21
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 0o0 View Post
Is the mobo outputting any beep codes? If you can confirm that the psu works (try it in a different system), everything has been installed correctly and the mobo still doesn't beep, then the mobo's dead. In this case, you may want to try the mobo with just the cpu (no video card or ram) just to make sure.

I tried just the boad and CPU. No beeps from the mobo, just the green LED.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old May 12, 2010, 07:54 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 21
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _dangtx_ View Post
check the pins on the mobo, and the under whatever you call them pin kissers for cpu.


without any spare parts, it can be anything, really. last id doubt would be the cpu, but even that has one chance in so may of coming out dead
so rmaing mobo may not solve it. go to a mom and pops and beg for 10 mins of their time :)
or find a good samarithan in your area who also is on here.quite the good folks we have in here, generally :)
Good idea. I'll start with getting a cheap PSU.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old May 12, 2010, 08:42 AM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,072

My System Specs

Default

Do you have the case power switch plugged into the mobo? Flipping the switch on the psu runs power to the board, but doesn't start the boot process. That comes from the front switch.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
asus or evga mobo? alterego New Builds 17 December 11, 2009 08:54 AM
Replaced faulty mobo, computer still not booting troyyyy Troubleshooting 21 October 5, 2009 08:56 AM
Asus RMA mobo Arinoth Off Topic 6 August 9, 2009 11:20 AM
FS-s939 X2-3800, OCZ ram, Ac Freezer 64 Pro, ASRock mobo, DFI mobo, Asus mobo..more stoanee Buy/Sell & Trade 14 June 7, 2008 06:24 PM
WTS: Asus P5k-SE mobo RoffleWaffle Buy/Sell & Trade 2 April 21, 2008 02:49 PM