Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 9, 2010, 06:43 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Ontario
Posts: 99

My System Specs

Default [Solved] Where to plug in POWERSW cable to eMachine Motherboards




View more information here
- ?????????????????????
- ??????????????????????


[Solved thanks to dangx!]


Thanks everyone!

Last edited by irtehleet; May 10, 2010 at 11:42 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 9, 2010, 06:57 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,798

My System Specs

Default

unplug the switch and short the two pins with something metal like a screwdriver to verify that it's the correct two pins on the motherboard.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 9, 2010, 07:08 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Ontario
Posts: 99

My System Specs

Default

Wait, would you mind saying that in a more nooby kinda way? I dont really know what you mean

thanks :D
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 9, 2010, 07:12 PM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,839
Default

Basically, you touch the tip of a metal screwdriver to two pins at the same time. Alternate pins until you find the two that turn things on and voila.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 9, 2010, 07:16 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: India
Posts: 121

My System Specs

Default

It means you should remove the switch and connect the 2 jumpers using a metal object like a screwdriver, to check whether you got the correct set of jumpers(for power). If it works, then there is probably a problem with your switch.
EDIT: SKY beat me to it.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old May 9, 2010, 07:23 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Ontario
Posts: 99

My System Specs

Default

So touching 2 pins with a metal screwdriver should start the whole PC up?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old May 9, 2010, 07:26 PM
Lpfan4ever's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,785

My System Specs

Default

Yep, that's basically all your power switch does anyways, bridging the pins. Very good trick to know about for troubleshooting, especially when out of your case. Yay sticking large metal objects inbetween tiny pins!
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by encorp
I don't know, maybe if you get a big enough compacticator you can put it in your butt and name yourself "sexbuttplug"...
Code:
<martin_metal_88> I think I am gonna sell my server
...
<firebane> i will offer pereniums mom
<firebane> slightly used
<Keltron> slightly is an understatement
<LPfan4ever> Who're you kidding...slightly?
<martin_metal_88> peri's mom, slightly used? lol...

Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old May 9, 2010, 07:31 PM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,839
Default

Please just make sure you are holding onto the HANDLE of your screwdriver.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old May 9, 2010, 07:32 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Ontario
Posts: 99

My System Specs

Default

Trying now, will post back with results, please hang tight I really want to fix this bs for my bro!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old May 9, 2010, 07:36 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Ontario
Posts: 99

My System Specs

Default

SUCCESS!! IT TURNED ON!

This is great, it turned on when touching one of them together.

Now, you suggest I connect the POWER_SW (Power switch) to whatever one I just touched with the screwdriver?

omg I literally LOVE YOU ALL right now lol
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HDD power switch Toyoracer Storage 11 February 11, 2010 09:20 PM
Power & Reset Switch miggs78 Cases 5 September 22, 2009 01:04 PM
New case Cosmos s power switch problems jusdrink Cases 1 June 20, 2009 08:59 AM
Custom sleeved 6 plug Pcie power cable Alwaysrun Power Supplies 2 May 17, 2009 06:37 PM
Xonar dx plug in power WolfBane Audio 1 December 22, 2008 09:47 AM