Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 8, 2010, 10:13 AM
Brian's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: London Ontario
Posts: 323
Default System won't even boot to bios

Hi guys I'm having some trouble with my system ...again. Can't catch a break with this build! It was fine yesterday and then I got some marks at the top of the screen that looked like bad tracking on a VHS and then the system went black and shut off. After that I got a BSOD and it froze before telling me what the problem was. After that I got it to the desktop for about 15 minutes and now it won't boot up.
I hit the power button and all my LED's come on, fans run, nothing comes up on the screen. Then it restarts on it's own and nothing happens. Just LED's and fans.
I've switched out the RAM and tried different slots that didn't seem to help, I've also disconnected the video card. I'm sort of leaning towards maybe something wrong with the power supply? Since it's restarting a couple of seconds after initial boot...or the video card. But yeah nothing comes up on screen no logo flash, no BIOS nothing then it restarts. Does anyone have any troubleshooting ideas? I'm going to have to try changing all the cables/ports on the power supply today to see if that's a problem.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 8, 2010, 11:15 AM
SneakySnake's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Waterloo
Posts: 296

My System Specs

Default

Try unplugging your computer and then removing the battery from the motherboard for 10 seconds or so. This will reset the bios to stock, and has saved my bacon many times when I got to greedy in my OC's. Stick the battery back in and then try to boot.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 8, 2010, 11:49 AM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Kingston Ontario
Posts: 926
Default

Try a different videocard if you have one...
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 8, 2010, 12:53 PM
Brian's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: London Ontario
Posts: 323
Default

Thanks for the replies. I suppose more relevant information could be that I don't have it overclocked at all, BIOS is stock except for turning off express gate and possibly having the CDROM as the default boot drive.
I tried the battery idea that didn't work. Cleaned out the video card while I had it out.
If it comes down to a hardware issue that's going to suck severely, the only things I know of off hand (have to double check) that are under warranty are the board and the PSU...I've already gone through a few new sticks of RAM, new motherboard, and have probably sunk about $500 on top of the $2500 initial price tag on it just trying to get it to work properly, so far unsuccessful. If it's a matter of spending more money on it that's not going to happen I'll sell the remaining good parts and be done with it for good.

I appreciate the ideas, unfortunately I don't have any other parts to try on the system. This is the first "modern" build with a PCI 2 card and a SATA drive. All the other systems in the house are 6 years or older.
I'm going to disconnect the CDROM and see if it will boot to the hard drive. Doubtful but worth a try. Update: didn't work.

Last edited by Brian; May 8, 2010 at 01:02 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 8, 2010, 03:23 PM
Silvgearx's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,105

My System Specs

Default

Before you think its the PSU or GPU, its best you identify the post beep code first. Get a PC 3 pin speaker.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old May 8, 2010, 05:53 PM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

+1 for the PC speaker but for me it's looking like a video card. Dual GPU card are not known for their long last. Try a new one that you can get from a friend and see what it give;)
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old May 8, 2010, 06:14 PM
Brian's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: London Ontario
Posts: 323
Default

Do you guys know of a quick way to aquire one of these speakers? I've seen what they are but don't have one. I will call my uncle tomorrow and see if his old system (50/50 chance) has a PCI-e 2.0 board in it and see if I can test the card in that if it is.
The frustrating thing that would make all this easy and quick to figure out is that the board doesn't have any onboard video or graphics, all the old systems in my house do so it's aggrivating. It would make for a quick easy test that's for sure.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old May 8, 2010, 06:27 PM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

Your best chance to get one of these speaker is to go to your local shop and ask for one. They probably have ton's of these little monster in the tech room. If they don't give it they are gonna sell it for like 1 or 2 box XD. There was one in the original box of your mobo you probably just don't see it and trash it. They are pretty helpfull. Keep us up to date my friend!
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old May 8, 2010, 06:32 PM
Silvgearx's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,105

My System Specs

Default

I bet one of your older computer have one of those, my 8 year old future crap PC had one in it.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old May 8, 2010, 06:38 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,923
Default

i say your GPU is not working have and old video card around to test

note if has onboard video there will be a vga 15D connector on rear panel
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GRUBS won't let me boot! Z Overlord O/S's, Drivers & General Software 6 April 14, 2010 07:55 PM
System won't boot with an XFX GTX 280 Igor01 Troubleshooting 13 June 22, 2008 01:36 PM
Changed PSU now system won't boot? Sniper Troubleshooting 3 May 17, 2008 09:54 AM
won't boot up Jhayman Troubleshooting 0 December 6, 2007 10:41 AM
Upgraded Hardware Won't Boot to Bios RGAR Troubleshooting 11 October 24, 2007 07:07 AM