Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 6, 2010, 10:51 PM
jcmaz's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 2,455

My System Specs

Default Still Crashing Prime95 :(

Hey HWC,

As many of you know, i posted a troubleshoot thread a while back: Screeches and Crashes

In a nut shell:
Computer (720BE one) crashes in Prime95 Large Inplace FFT's. I Prime'd it once for 17 hours straight..
Temps are good ~40*C
Memtested RAM 7 passes (each stick)
Swapped PSU

Now I swap in a new motherboard (Gigabyte 785GT UD3H) and the issue happens even faster :(

Can anyone tell me what's wrong with my computer?

Thanks for helping.
__________________
“Wise men speak because they have something to say; Fools because they have to say something.”

-Plato
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 6, 2010, 11:01 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

if everything but cpu was changed, doesnt leave much room :)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 6, 2010, 11:56 PM
Silvgearx's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,105

My System Specs

Default

Are you running all your stuff bone stock?

If not, set it to optimize defaults.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 7, 2010, 08:12 AM
jcmaz's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 2,455

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 5ILVgeARX View Post
Are you running all your stuff bone stock?

If not, set it to optimize defaults.
Yup, In bios i choose the optimized default.

Could it be the hard drive that could cause a computer to crash? That is the only thing that was not tested, besides the CPU.
__________________
“Wise men speak because they have something to say; Fools because they have to say something.”

-Plato
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 7, 2010, 04:00 PM
Silvgearx's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,105

My System Specs

Default

Then give the CPU VID NB some juice. Put +2 increments on it. (+.050) And might as well give some more juice for the Vcore.

Run Small FFT. If it fails your might have a defective CPU

What bios version? F7?

And your window is updated to the newest AMD Cool N Quiet right.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old May 7, 2010, 09:47 PM
jcmaz's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 2,455

My System Specs

Default

How long should I run Small FFT?
__________________
“Wise men speak because they have something to say; Fools because they have to say something.”

-Plato
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old May 7, 2010, 09:48 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 2,026
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jcmaz View Post
How long should I run Small FFT?
Min 6hrs.
__________________
"What is the colour when black is burnt ?" - Neil Young
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
prime95 without cooler! 486 Air Cooling 20 February 11, 2009 11:46 AM
Prime95 Error Vegaslife Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 6 January 19, 2009 10:55 AM
Need some help with prime95 Gameplaywarrior O/S's, Drivers & General Software 2 November 29, 2008 12:16 PM
clocking and crashing and gaming and folding and crashing vinister Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 5 June 30, 2008 12:22 PM
Prime95 v2.51 enaberif Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 6 July 25, 2007 09:34 PM