Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 5, 2010, 04:43 PM
rapmaster's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Brossard, QC
Posts: 1,016

My System Specs

Default TRIM in IDE

In AHCI, any sound coming from my speakers skips/cracks every few seconds. Switching to IDE solve that, but I want to know if trim run in IDE mode, automatically or at least manually with the Intel SSD toolbox. I don't want to choose between sound cracks or no TRIM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 5, 2010, 04:52 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,485

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rapmaster View Post
In AHCI, any sound coming from my speakers skips/cracks every few seconds. Switching to IDE solve that, but I want to know if trim run in IDE mode, automatically or at least manually with the Intel SSD toolbox. I don't want to choose between sound cracks or no TRIM.
You'll have to manually wipe the cells. However, I'd try and find a fix to your issue first. What mobo? Are you on a Jmicron controller? Have you disabled all the SATA ports you aren't using?
__________________
For my part I know nothing with any certainty, but the sight of the stars makes me dream.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 5, 2010, 05:03 PM
rapmaster's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Brossard, QC
Posts: 1,016

My System Specs

Default

790X-UD4P, my drives are running from the southbridge, none from the Jmicron controller. I'm going to try your suggestion, see if it work.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 5, 2010, 05:56 PM
rapmaster's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Brossard, QC
Posts: 1,016

My System Specs

Default

hmmm, just switch back to AHCI, the cracks are gone, weird.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AkG? What's the best way to TRIM in Win7? Delavan Storage 6 April 12, 2010 06:28 PM
When to use Trim? lsquare Storage 9 March 22, 2010 04:52 AM
Raid now supports TRIM Musabi Reviews & Articles from the Web 4 March 20, 2010 09:09 PM
Raid and TRIM Smn123 Storage 1 February 28, 2010 07:36 AM
Why You Need TRIM for your SSD [bit-tech] FiXT Storage 11 February 5, 2010 12:31 PM