Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 2, 2010, 05:39 PM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default HDD partially detected

Hey guys! So here the problem. Yesterday I reinstall my windows because of a virus that I was unable to clean. Now, my second drive WD10EADS 1TB green is detected by my bios, detected by my disk management in windows but in my computer if I browse nothing appears. I have a GA-P55-UD5 all driver are currently installed with the latest bios. Can some one help me get this working. If you need more info just ask I'll answer fast! I need this computer to run before the may 5 for the folding challenge!
Thx you guys!
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 2, 2010, 06:01 PM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Kingston Ontario
Posts: 926
Default

Is it a new drive? If so you need to initialize it before windows can recognize it... You can do this in disk management...
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 2, 2010, 06:05 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,824

My System Specs

Default

try changing the drive letter. then just change it back
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 2, 2010, 06:35 PM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gingerbee View Post
try changing the drive letter. then just change it back
Will try it in few sec, I change my drive cable and now my boot.mgr is missing time for some windows repair

Quote:
Originally Posted by boggtrotter59 View Post
Is it a new drive? If so you need to initialize it before windows can recognize it... You can do this in disk management...
Na this drive have work fine for the past years and still work fine, but my windows wont display it...it's pretty annoying I have all my movie music and .exe on it.
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 2, 2010, 07:04 PM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

After some troubleshooting hard drive is now detected but like a USB key, each time I open the computer it take some time to install driver and then open the same windowsit would open if I plug in a USB stick. This is not that bad but just playing with my patiente. Will troubleshoot that later but if you have any idea please tell me!
Your awesome guys!
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old May 2, 2010, 07:30 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,824

My System Specs

Default

is the drive marked as active? i mean if it's seen then it should be so.
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old May 2, 2010, 07:45 PM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 2,039

My System Specs

Default Pull power plugs on all other drives

Pull power plugs on all other drives and just leave coneted the problem drive and restart see if it is the only drive weather it will be detected?
__________________
"EVGA hunted down the last dozen or so expats living in Karachi." SKY
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old May 2, 2010, 07:47 PM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gingerbee View Post
is the drive marked as active? i mean if it's seen then it should be so.
I seriously don't know why it wasn't working and now it is...but well if you see why it is now detected like a USB stick in this pic tell me XD
Attached Images
 
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old May 2, 2010, 08:04 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,824

My System Specs

Default

well not really sure what you mean it doesn't show up as a usb see or do you mean because it shows up as active? if this is what you mean i believe it has to do with the driver it is using ( what i mean is the Microsoft driver vs the vendors/propriety driver now don't quote me on this cause this is just a logical guess)
hope it helps.
Attached Images
 
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old May 2, 2010, 08:09 PM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

No I mean everythime I start windows on the bottom right there is the little installing sign that appear saying it install driver for the disk ( like if you plug USB device ) then it will open the same widow with view file and etc that you would get if you put a CD or a USB stick in the computer. That just...wierd...
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Second processor not detected 3.0charlie CPU's and Motherboards 43 January 18, 2010 03:07 PM
NANs detected on GPU redwagon HardwareCanucks F@H Team 18 November 18, 2009 01:39 PM
HDD not detected? Lavitz Troubleshooting 6 November 1, 2009 01:53 AM
p5q: IDE hdd is not detected CTA Troubleshooting 3 September 4, 2008 10:22 PM
DISC0 not detected PaxeSalute Storage 1 April 10, 2008 10:07 AM