Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old April 28, 2010, 08:53 AM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,079

My System Specs

Default

Ours is not to reason why, ours is but to OC and try.....

Here's what I'd do. Disconnect all but boot HDD, and remove all but one ram stick. If it boots, start adding drives and RAM one at a time.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old April 28, 2010, 08:59 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arinoth View Post
I haven't tried either, though i dont see how a cpu oc should effect windows from booting if a linux distro will (and those are loaded completely into ram).
Don't think, just do.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old April 28, 2010, 09:06 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,586

My System Specs

Default

I'll try some of this stuff tomorrow when i'm back 'home', currently visiting the girlfriend out in kitchener
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old April 28, 2010, 12:07 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 41
Default

I had a similar issue with my new Asus G73 laptop recently. Turned out to be an issue with the Creative software for the sound card. The only remedy was to boot into safe mode and remove all creative software. Before the lock ups, the computer ran just fine. It was after I went into the software to look at the settings that I had the lock up issues.

Not sure if this will apply to you or not, but figured I'd throw it out there.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old April 28, 2010, 12:16 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,827

My System Specs

Default

not sure if this may help but here you go Fix a Broken or Missing Bootloader in Windows 7 -- The Official Christopher Heiser Home Page
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old April 28, 2010, 12:34 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,586

My System Specs

Default

Hmm it 'could' be the wireless adapter software i installed, as its the only thing that has changed. I may try a system restore before the install of the drivers to see if this fixes the issues or not. Thanks Takkyu
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old April 29, 2010, 03:12 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,586

My System Specs

Default

Update on the situation for those whom were interested. It turned out to be a driver issue with an old wireless g pci card i had installed. Rolling back to before i installed it everything works as before.

to takkyu for giving me the advice in the pm
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old April 30, 2010, 12:48 AM
HaDeS
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

sweet good job!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows 7 boot repair Eldonko O/S's, Drivers & General Software 12 December 18, 2009 09:25 PM
GA-EP45-DQ6 MB will not boot to windows lizard Troubleshooting 7 February 1, 2009 10:45 PM
Windows XP endless boot loop Wolfx25 Troubleshooting 13 December 29, 2008 10:03 AM
No boot after Windows update. Pilot_dc O/S's, Drivers & General Software 10 May 19, 2008 01:00 PM
AAARGH, can't boot into windows AGAIN, different PC!!! donimo Troubleshooting 16 January 28, 2008 09:08 AM