Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 22, 2010, 10:54 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 45
Default Freezes and Shutdowns

I recently replaced my 8800GT with a 5770HD, and although I mention this, I'm not entirely sure that's the problem (I don't think it is...). Anyways, lately I've been having more lockups where everything just goes completely unresponsive, as well as a couple shut-offs--not shut-downs, the computer just completely turns off. I'm not seeing any other unusual behaviour. I'm wondering if this is my PSU biting the biscuit? Shut-offs and lockups seem to be completely random.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 22, 2010, 10:58 PM
Lpfan4ever's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,774

My System Specs

Default

If it's shutting off in a way like it would if you yanked the power cord out, then I'd personally guess PSU first. I don't think the 5770 takes much more power than the 8800 though. Posting your complete rig will help us figure out what may be wrong though.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by encorp
I don't know, maybe if you get a big enough compacticator you can put it in your butt and name yourself "sexbuttplug"...
Code:
<martin_metal_88> I think I am gonna sell my server
...
<firebane> i will offer pereniums mom
<firebane> slightly used
<Keltron> slightly is an understatement
<LPfan4ever> Who're you kidding...slightly?
<martin_metal_88> peri's mom, slightly used? lol...

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 22, 2010, 11:10 PM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Kingston Ontario
Posts: 926
Default

Probably the psu... try blowing it out with compressed air. If there's crud in there or lot's of dust it can clog the fan causing it to overheat and shut down...
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 22, 2010, 11:21 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 45
Default

Phenom II X3 720 3.2Ghz
4GB DDR2-800 OCZ RAM
500W OCZ PSU
XFX 5770HD 1GB GPU O.C.
2 x 7200RPM HDD
Asus M4A78-Pro Motherboard
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 23, 2010, 04:45 AM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,955
Default

more Gigawatts the current PSU is under total load, test with 1 HDD and remove any USB device your not using see if works fine
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 23, 2010, 09:29 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 41
Default

The PSU is hitting it's max load and/or the load is going over. I had the same issue with my wife's pc. Upgrading to a 720watt from Gigabyte did the trick.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 23, 2010, 12:01 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Please post the model of the PSU. However, unless it's defective, the PSU isn't the problem. 500W is plenty for your system, even if you're using a cheap OCZ PSU.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old April 23, 2010, 02:23 PM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,629

My System Specs

Default

Don't know if this can cause your problem to shut down like that, but did you completely remove the old NVIDIA drivers before you installed your ATI GPU?

Even if you have the OCZ StealthXStream 500W, you should be fine.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old April 24, 2010, 10:00 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 45
Default

I plan on replacing the PSU with something a little more beefy and modular (I'd like to CF 5770s down the line). I went in and reseated the ram and secured all the power connections. I haven't had a lockup or shut-down yet, although they weren't too common to begin with. I should note that they would occur just as commonly as typing in notepad as they would after 5+ hours of gaming, so I'm not sure it's a matter of hitting the PSU's load. The 5770 actually uses less power than my old 8800GT from what I understand (at least on idle) and I never had this issue with the 8800GT. Yeah, I used.. uhh... some driver cleaner program to remove the Nvidia drivers. Sorry, I don't recall the name off the top of my head.

If it continues happening I'll replace it with a new PSU. I was looking at some 650W Corsair model.

EDIT: Oh, yeah, it is the 500W StealthXStream.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old April 24, 2010, 10:19 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Yeah, that doesn't sound like a PSU issue at all.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
pc freezes p derf Video Cards 12 March 9, 2010 01:51 PM
New build freezes up jarko Troubleshooting 16 September 30, 2009 05:24 AM
Crossfire setup with random shutdowns NightRain Troubleshooting 4 June 22, 2009 11:27 AM
Memtest Freezes appplejack RAM 2 December 22, 2008 01:05 PM
System freezes at post. DeVries CPU's and Motherboards 2 December 16, 2007 06:10 AM