Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 18, 2010, 10:34 PM
mchutch's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: NW Ontario
Posts: 433

My System Specs

Default IDE / SATA / AHCI / RAID

For awhile now I've been wondering what settings are best, for normal and RAID setups.

Does anyone use AHCI mode for normal and/or RAID?

And what's the difference for IDE native and IDE legacy?

Have a new motherboard and of course the manufacturers never tell you what all the BIOS settings do! lol
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 18, 2010, 10:59 PM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 2,037

My System Specs

Default AHCI

AHCI fore SSD it enabels trim with win 7 YouTube - Windows 7 install and SSD upgrade on Cameraman's PC (NCIX Tech Tips #65)

AND YouTube - What is TRIM and Why Does Your SSD Need It? Linus Tech Tips

watch these LINUS rocks
__________________
"EVGA hunted down the last dozen or so expats living in Karachi." SKY
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 18, 2010, 11:27 PM
mchutch's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: NW Ontario
Posts: 433

My System Specs

Default

Thanks for the links Hades, but if I'm posting in here I'm looking for responses from people with "hands on", not generic information.

ZZLEE, is AHCI only beneficial to SSDs?

Should AHCI be enabled or disabled when using a RAID config?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 19, 2010, 07:38 AM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,922
Default

didn't say what chipset using? or MB

here some info on intel if your MB supports intel chipset

also if this your system spec MB it has a marvell 9128 chip.pdf

also check firmware/driver for the JMicron JMB362 chip pdf if your system spec MB
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 20, 2010, 11:32 AM
mchutch's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: NW Ontario
Posts: 433

My System Specs

Default AHCI ect..

I never post system info, I just use the System Spec on the right >>

Also I'm really just looking for what people use and why, not how to configure my setup.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 20, 2010, 11:50 AM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,071

My System Specs

Default

AHCI also enables hotswapping of drives, so it's a must if you are using eSATA ports for external drives. IMHO, the only reason to run in IDE mode is if you have an IDE drive, or are updating firmware on certain SSD's.

And while I'd rarely link benchmarkreviews.com, here's the article where Olin eats crow and admits that AHCI is usually better than IDE. http://benchmarkreviews.com/index.ph...=505&Itemid=38
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
IDE better than AHCI for SSD's? kk22 Reviews & Articles from the Web 18 April 16, 2010 09:17 AM
AHCI + raid Patramix Storage 7 March 25, 2010 06:07 PM
IDE instead of SATA... whoops. somecanadianguy New Builds 15 April 2, 2009 07:37 PM
IDE to AHCI sircuster Storage 5 February 19, 2008 12:55 PM
SATA to IDE.... chibi_man Troubleshooting 9 October 20, 2007 11:02 AM