Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 18, 2010, 03:57 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 32
Default Program Question

Zone Alarm

It has always been on my computer, is it even any good?
AFAIK all it does really, is says when something is trying to access the internet.

Discuss Pros & Cons
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 18, 2010, 06:51 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: AB
Posts: 1,212
Default

zone alarm had its place, back in the day when windows had no firewall and more people were connected directly to their modems instead of through a router.

Nowadays xp and up have a built in software firewall and more people utilize wireless networking, so they have routers which are a hardware firewall. (better than a software firewall)

That said, unless your using a pre xp operating system and are connected directly to the internet via your modem (no router) than zone alarm is largly a waste of cpu cycles.
__________________

vista 64 on these rigs
Q9450 @ 3.5Ghz | E8400 @ 4.2Ghz
8gb Muskin Redline. | 2gb Kingston Hyperx
________________________________|_________________ ______________
EVGA 780i FTW ----\--||___||--/---- EVGA 780i SLI
Antec TP Quatro 1000W \ :==^==: / Antec TP Quatro 850W.
Nvidia 9800 GX2 X 2 SLI \|--o--|/ Nvidia 8800 GTS X 2 SLI
1X 500GB Western Digital. \_____/ 3X 150GB WD RAPTOR RAID-0
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 18, 2010, 07:11 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,827

My System Specs

Default

have not used it in years have not needed it. jmo
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 18, 2010, 07:25 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

If you're behind a router, a software firewall is not needed. Routers have built-in hardware firewalls that will do a better job than any software firewall can.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 18, 2010, 08:27 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 32
Default

okay, deleted. haha.
thanks you guys!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nubby question about windows registry and stuff, moving program files 0o0 O/S's, Drivers & General Software 4 October 15, 2009 06:45 PM
Conversion Program SiDiX007 O/S's, Drivers & General Software 5 May 16, 2009 06:56 PM
Noob question: is there a program that tells ram temp? Gameplaywarrior RAM 19 December 3, 2008 12:55 PM
EVGA Step-up Program Question Mr. Cipher Video Cards 6 October 29, 2007 03:29 PM
program Rapid-X O/S's, Drivers & General Software 8 September 3, 2007 06:13 PM