Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old April 8, 2010, 12:44 PM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,622

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chriskwarren View Post
Not sure how there could be a BSOD as Memtest is not a Windows program; its a bootable ISO:
Memtest86.com - Memory Diagnostic

You mean you cannot burn the ISO?
Uh this is the correct link for Memtest86+.

Memtest86+ - Advanced Memory Diagnostic Tool

Seems there's a way to boot off of USB.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old April 8, 2010, 12:46 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,401

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by geokilla View Post
Uh this is the correct link for Memtest86+.

Memtest86+ - Advanced Memory Diagnostic Tool

Seems there's a way to boot off of USB.
Yep...you ninja'd me before I caught it.
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old April 8, 2010, 01:14 PM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,246

My System Specs

Default

He could be using :MemTest: RAM reliability tester for Windows
Have you cleared cmos since you swapped hardware? I seam to remember Steve saying he had to clear cmos when he upgraded his cpu, as for what board and cpu that was I have no idea.
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old April 8, 2010, 03:58 PM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,062

My System Specs

Default

CMOS was not cleared when the initial setup was Made on this board. It failed is first Prime95 After I had put the OS on it. I always stress test just to make sure.
I then decided to try and alternate of OCCT and use Linpack which initally seemed to work before it too failed and gave me a BSOD.

I've Upped the V a little across the boards including the RAM. Problem is , I am now at this point only getting a little past the splash screen before it is toasted again.

Being not 100% familiar with i7 and Tri-Channel, can you still do the 1 stick at a time method ?

ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old April 8, 2010, 04:10 PM
shaw
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Always run Memtest86+ one stick at a time.
Running stock Volts does not mean it's always stable too. I learned that a while back from sswilson.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
strange google CTA O/S's, Drivers & General Software 3 March 1, 2009 12:41 AM
Several Strange Problems on a New Build shryke Troubleshooting 10 October 30, 2008 10:04 PM
Some strange BSODs zlojack Troubleshooting 11 September 24, 2008 11:28 AM
8800GT - Strange Noise Voodoo Troubleshooting 34 January 21, 2008 05:45 PM
uh...strange problem?.. omgwtf Troubleshooting 17 December 20, 2007 02:34 PM