Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 7, 2010, 02:47 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Beamsville,Ontario
Posts: 24

My System Specs

Default bsod on windows load screen

so i got the main parts for my computer today and i tried getting it going but when i get to the xp load screen i get a bsod. i am using a hard drive off my old intel machine and my new computer is amd i read that this would be a problem. also i read that all i have to do to fix the problem is do a repair with the windows cd but i dont have it. so im wondering if i should just wait till the hard drive comes in (it was sent in a different shipment) and try to do a fresh install of windows or if something else might be wrong. to my knowledge everything is fine it just wont boot right now. any help would be greatly appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 7, 2010, 02:59 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

if you have an empty partition drop linux or run off a live cd till your new drive comes, if you are afraid to lose datat on old hdd
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 7, 2010, 04:33 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Beamsville,Ontario
Posts: 24

My System Specs

Default

i dont care about losing data i just want to get this thing going so i can be sure eveything works and my old computer just died so i only have my ps3 to use for the internet..
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 7, 2010, 04:42 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

well you need to install an os.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 7, 2010, 05:08 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Beamsville,Ontario
Posts: 24

My System Specs

Default

alright ill see if i can find a os disc around here somewere, if not i guess im buying windows seven :)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 7, 2010, 09:32 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,937
Default

boot in safe mode then go to my computer properties, user profiles and DELETE your confriguration. reboot still in safe mode with network option
get all your current drivers for correct hardware and unzip them if are zipped
place in a folder
reboot....now system will see your amd/nvidia chipsets then point to your drivers folder you just made

Last edited by KaptCrunch; April 7, 2010 at 09:39 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 8, 2010, 10:11 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Beamsville,Ontario
Posts: 24

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KaptCrunch View Post
boot in safe mode then go to my computer properties, user profiles and DELETE your confriguration. reboot still in safe mode with network option
get all your current drivers for correct hardware and unzip them if are zipped
place in a folder
reboot....now system will see your amd/nvidia chipsets then point to your drivers folder you just made

i couldn't even get into the os in safe mode.. but i found an os disk and i am currently updating the drivers thanks for the help :)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old April 8, 2010, 11:13 AM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,828
Default

Boot into recovery mode. Go into the c:\windows\system32\drivers folder and delete intel*.* Reboot.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old April 8, 2010, 01:10 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Philly
Posts: 131
Default

Put your hard drive back in the old computer boot it up and use a program to grab the license key. Download windows on a torrent, and try a fresh install with the old key. Only problem is your going to clean out the drive before you validate the key. With windows XP keys are not interchangable with different versions ie: Regular, OEM, Upgrade, etc..
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BSOD's in windows 7 on idle Polygon Troubleshooting 15 April 8, 2010 04:37 PM
Windows 7: black screen before setup is complete sevensc O/S's, Drivers & General Software 14 September 9, 2009 03:02 AM
not sure if this is my mb or a windows 7 thing but I get BSOD Shadowmeph Troubleshooting 4 August 10, 2009 11:46 AM
Blue screen keeping me out of windows. Jake_HT Troubleshooting 0 February 2, 2009 08:02 AM
HELP! Windows won't load, BSOD! donimo O/S's, Drivers & General Software 23 December 11, 2007 07:35 PM