Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 3, 2010, 05:49 AM
cmac79's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Newfoundland
Posts: 1,051

My System Specs

Default pc crashed help

a lil while ago my pc crashed which was no big deal it was time for areformat anyway. I got up this morning and it was down again....this is the message I get....Windows could not start because the following file is missing of corrupt:
(Windows root)/system32/hal.dll. Please re,install a copy of the above file........what do I do here? % put my disc in but I only get the reformat options..i wanna try to avoid a reformat if possible cause I have a few thongs I do not want to loose if possible
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 3, 2010, 05:51 AM
cmac79's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Newfoundland
Posts: 1,051

My System Specs

Default

haha things not thongs lol..typin on cell lol
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 3, 2010, 07:40 AM
Full Speed's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Mount Pearl, Newfoundland
Posts: 811

My System Specs

Default

Which OS is it?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 3, 2010, 07:43 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,589

My System Specs

Default

Sounds to me for one reason or another the hard drive has lost or corrupted one of the boot up windows files. What version of windows are you running, if its Vista or Win 7 you can insert the cd/dvd and run an install repair. If its XP (if memory serves me right) then you have to reformat
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 3, 2010, 07:50 AM
cmac79's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Newfoundland
Posts: 1,051

My System Specs

Default

yea its xp pro...i was usin win7 but had some ram die on me a bit ago so I'm stuck wit 1 gig till I gets more which is why iwent back to xp...crap guess I gotta reformat grrr..had some stuff I been workin on for a week now that I'm going to loose...im gonna have to get me an external hd for stuff like this
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 3, 2010, 07:54 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,589

My System Specs

Default

Well dont go ahead and format just yet. If you have a second hard drive laying around (or pc) you could install windows ontop that, boot from that and well recover your files from your hard drive with the corrupt windows by making it a slave drive.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 3, 2010, 09:11 AM
bushwhacker's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Lake of the Woods
Posts: 286
Default

You should have the option to do a repair installation.
How to perform an in-place upgrade (reinstallation) of Windows XP
I would first use the A43 File Management Utility on the BartPE bootCD & a USB flash drive to backup all the files one values.
Alternatively, put the A43 File Management Utility directly on a USB flash drive - boot from it and copy files to it.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old April 3, 2010, 03:28 PM
cmac79's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Newfoundland
Posts: 1,051

My System Specs

Default

ty ty ty ty ty bushwhacker I went to the first link you posted and was able to boot up my pc and save all my stuff...ty ty ty ty ty
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old April 3, 2010, 04:13 PM
b1lk1's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lindsay, Ontario
Posts: 2,502

My System Specs

Default

I know this is off topic, but I run 1GB of ram on my kids PC with Windows 7 and it runs great.
__________________
MY HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old April 3, 2010, 04:54 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

nice t have it back up. did you try messing around with the hal or it just got corrupted? was trying to get sli work on my xfire mobo, as you may know theres a few methods, drivers or hal..dont touch the hal part ;)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Win 7 x64 crashed big time on me. Skyllz O/S's, Drivers & General Software 14 January 25, 2010 03:29 PM