Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 27, 2010, 04:43 PM
BrokenHalo83's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 262

My System Specs

Default problem using tv as a monitor

I'm trying to connect my tv to my laptop using an HDMI cable. When i plug in the cable, the tv screen goes almost completely white, but the laptop screen is fine. I initially thought it was the cable, so i tried it on my desktop and there were no issues. Any ideas as to what may be wrong?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 27, 2010, 05:06 PM
fishingfanatic's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamilton Ont
Posts: 1,368

My System Specs

Default

Perhaps you have to go into the display resolution setup and activate the tv as another monitor. It's also possible the card is insufficient for the tv. How big is the tv screen? If it's an nvidia card the control panel has an nvidia control panel as well to activate multiple displays, connection setup, ie- hdmi/vga,... Try that , and good luck.

Fishingfanatic
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 27, 2010, 05:20 PM
BrokenHalo83's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 262

My System Specs

Default

The laptop uses the HD4500 Integrated graphics. The tv is a 32 inch bravia. It's worked a couple times in the past, so im not sure why it wouldnt now
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Samsung monitor video input problem technix Display Units 1 March 15, 2010 08:21 PM
Please Help - Brand New LCD Monitor Stand-by Problem dejanh Troubleshooting 6 January 25, 2010 09:37 AM
N330 Atom Processor temperature monitor problem Arinoth Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 12 January 23, 2010 07:00 AM
Monitor problem Bubbzilla Troubleshooting 7 August 26, 2009 11:41 PM
Monitor Problem v0maru Display Units 10 March 15, 2009 09:23 AM