Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 22, 2010, 09:22 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Guelph/ Toronto
Posts: 120

My System Specs

Default Gigabyte p55a UD3 Speedstep Problem SOLVED

Help needed

Everything about my p55 rig is rock solid except I can not enable C1E or C1ST (speedstep). If I do enable these features the PC hangs on the windows 7 logo screen and I can not get to my desktop and I have to hard power down. My temps are fine, prime95 and memtest stable.

This problem occurs no matter what the overclock, voltages, memory settings/timings or bios version used. I have tried changing the voltages and enabling LLC but I still get the same prob.
Even when I leave all the settings on auto and then I can't even enable C1E or C1ST.







  • System Specs
    System Specs
    Yes
    Motherboard
    Gigabyte P55a UD3 (F6)
    Processor
    i5 750 (VID 1.19) @ 3.36Ghz Does 4.2Ghz on air no prob
    Memory
    OCZ Gold DDR3 4Gb 1600Mhz CAS8
    Video Card(s)
    EVGA 8800Gts
    Hard Drive(s)
    2X WD Caviar Black 640Gb Raid 0
    Optical Drive(s)
    LG DVD
    Case
    Lian-Li PC7FN
    Power Supply
    Corsair TX650
    Sound Card
    Auzentech Prelude
    Monitor
    Samsung 24" 1920X1200 245BW
    Operating System
    Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit

  • Last edited by AdoP; March 23, 2010 at 03:04 PM.
    Reply With Quote
      #2 (permalink)  
    Old March 23, 2010, 08:42 AM
    Top Prospect
     
    Join Date: Aug 2009
    Location: Guelph/ Toronto
    Posts: 120

    My System Specs

    Default

    Any Suggestions?
    Reply With Quote
      #3 (permalink)  
    Old March 23, 2010, 10:25 AM
    Banned
    F@H
     
    Join Date: Aug 2007
    Location: mtl
    Posts: 12,694
    Default

    not sure. perhaps it tries to lower vid too much before dropping multi/bus?
    Reply With Quote
      #4 (permalink)  
    Old March 23, 2010, 11:44 AM
    Top Prospect
     
    Join Date: Aug 2009
    Location: Guelph/ Toronto
    Posts: 120

    My System Specs

    Default

    Yep I was thinking the same thing, I tried to give it more voltage to compensate for this but no luck. The prob could also be the cpu but I don't have an extra one to test.

    Thanks Dan


    Quote:
    Originally Posted by _dangtx_ View Post
    not sure. perhaps it tries to lower vid too much before dropping multi/bus?
    Reply With Quote
      #5 (permalink)  
    Old March 23, 2010, 03:12 PM
    Top Prospect
     
    Join Date: Aug 2009
    Location: Guelph/ Toronto
    Posts: 120

    My System Specs

    Default

    I found that when I had speed step on and the memory was below 1333mhz there were no problems but as soon as I went over 1333mhz on the memory with speedstep enabled, windows would not post. I upped the memory voltage to 1.7 from 1.64 and bingo I was stable at 1600mhz with speedstep enabled.

    I never had to raise the memory voltage past 1.64 with my x58 rig using the exact same memory at 1600mhz. This makes me think that the integrated memory controller of p55 systems may need more voltage when the power saving features are enabled. This could be why so many people were having trouble getting their memory to run at the rated speed with p55 rigs. UREEEKKKKAAAAA


    I wonder what is better in terms of power consumption for everyday pc use

    1.Running memory at 1.64V with speedstep disabled
    or
    2.Running memory at 1.7V with speedstep enabled


    Last edited by AdoP; March 23, 2010 at 03:40 PM.
    Reply With Quote
    Reply


    Thread Tools
    Display Modes

    Similar Threads
    Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
    Intel New Micro ATX PC - GIGABYTE H55M-USB3 with Core i5 660 Review windwithme CPU's and Motherboards 5 February 20, 2010 07:21 AM
    Major differences between Gigabyte P55A-UD4P and UD3? lsquare CPU's and Motherboards 4 February 3, 2010 04:02 PM