Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 14, 2010, 05:54 PM
Infiniti's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 1,388

My System Specs

Default Possible Dead Mobo and CPU?

Now, before everything that happened, things were all working fine.

Anyway, today, I was swapping out my Q6600 for an E7200. When I put in the E7200, it didn't post. I cleared CMOS, still nothing. So I take my E2200 out of my server and put it in my computer, hoping it's just my E7200. Nothing. I also put the E7200 in my server, but it still didn't post.

Does this mean I somehow killed my mobo and CPU? Is there anything I'm doing wrong? I cleared CMOS both times, but still nothing. The E2200 in my server still works fine as of now though.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 14, 2010, 06:15 PM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,048

My System Specs

Default

Seems kinda odd that both would die that easily....
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 14, 2010, 06:23 PM
Infiniti's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 1,388

My System Specs

Default

Yeah that's the thing, that's why I was wondering if I'm missing anything.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 14, 2010, 06:25 PM
jcmaz's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 2,453

My System Specs

Default

BIOS update for 45nm processors?
__________________
“Wise men speak because they have something to say; Fools because they have to say something.”

-Plato
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 14, 2010, 06:28 PM
Infiniti's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 1,388

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jcmaz View Post
BIOS update for 45nm processors?
Oh yeah, that could be why the E7200 wasn't working on my server's mobo, but that doesn't explain why the E2200 won't work on my main computer.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 14, 2010, 06:29 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,583
Default

did you try putting the q6600 back in?

and aye, BIOS update for 45nm
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 14, 2010, 06:30 PM
rapmaster's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Brossard, QC
Posts: 1,016

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Infiniti View Post
Oh yeah, that could be why the E7200 wasn't working on my server's mobo, but that doesn't explain why the E2200 won't work on my main computer.
Dead PSU?

And Yeah, try putting the q6600 back.
__________________
Quando omni flunkus moritati
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 14, 2010, 06:45 PM
Infiniti's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 1,388

My System Specs

Default

The reason I had to swap it out was that I was giving it to a friend.

Anyway, I think this was all just because of BIOS incompatibilities. I looked on MSI's site, and apparently the E2200 isn't supported with my BIOS version. Same goes for E7200. Guess I'll just have to flash my mobo. Thanks guys!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old March 14, 2010, 06:48 PM
Sushi Warrior's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Grimsby, Ontario
Posts: 1,620

My System Specs

Default

Any sign of power? Any LEDs, any fans spinning?
__________________
||EK Supreme LT Nickel||MCP355/EK X-TOPV2||EK150 M-O res||MCR220/White||NZXT FN120RB/FN140RB||
Project|Oroborous by NZXT and MNPC
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old March 14, 2010, 06:57 PM
Infiniti's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 1,388

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sushi Warrior View Post
Any sign of power? Any LEDs, any fans spinning?
Yep, everything gets power. The GPU fan doesn't spin up though.

I need a CPU that's supported by the current BIOS to flash. Anybody in Vancouver have one?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do I know when my mobo battery is dead? andynerd Troubleshooting 16 December 15, 2009 11:30 AM
Another mobo dead? encorp Troubleshooting 23 October 26, 2009 10:32 AM
Dead Mobo Arinoth Troubleshooting 3 August 2, 2009 08:20 PM
[WTB] CPU/MOBO trayton Buy/Sell & Trade 3 March 25, 2009 08:42 AM
possibly a dead mobo Psycho-Designs Troubleshooting 6 July 23, 2008 10:19 PM