Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 12, 2010, 06:39 PM
clone63's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Bellehole
Posts: 669

My System Specs

Default BSOD when trying to install XP

Recently got a laptop and want to put XP on it. It's an HP DV3Z.
After the disc loads all the drivers and such, it BSOD's when it says "Starting to load windows"
Nothing gets installed, just crashes. Recommends to remove any newly installed HDD's or HDD controllers. SO I started a sector scan with HD Tune and it was scanning at ranges of 4-22mb a second. Achingly slow. Rather than wait 3 hours I put in a different blank hdd I had, and again it BSOD'd at same spot. SO now I'm trying a Vista install on the new drive to see what scan speed I get to make sure the controller isn't bunged up. Other than that I have NO ideas...

Oh, and I tried 2 copies of Xp discs. Still crashes.

From here all I can think of prep an install on a hdd.

EDIT: Second hdd took Vista and scans 40-60mb/sec. Sounding like old HDD had problems, though why did XP crash on this hdd?

Last edited by clone63; March 12, 2010 at 06:46 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 12, 2010, 06:59 PM
shaw
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Which XP Service Pack is it?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 12, 2010, 07:01 PM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,037

My System Specs

Default

Whenever a computer does something that doesn't make sense it warrants one pass of memtest86, in my opinion.....
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 12, 2010, 07:05 PM
clone63's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Bellehole
Posts: 669

My System Specs

Default

That original "slow" hdd scans at ranges of 30-60mb/sec in my tower. So we'll check the sectors anyway..
Service pack 2
Will run memtest tonight hopefully, if not tomorrow.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 12, 2010, 09:47 PM
clone63's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Bellehole
Posts: 669

My System Specs

Default

Passed a round of memtest. Tried doing an install of XP through my tower, but says no boot device in the laptop with that hdd. Out of ideas.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 12, 2010, 09:59 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Markham
Posts: 1,566

My System Specs

Default

I see this problem a lot, 9/10 times it's a SATA thing. Either you didn't slipstream the right drivers onto your XP CD or Windows won't install if your SATA devices are plugged into a certain SATA plug. (including the optical drive)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 12, 2010, 10:03 PM
clone63's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Bellehole
Posts: 669

My System Specs

Default

It's a laptop, there are no plugs.
Or do you mean the prep install? It loads on the tower, just not in the laptop.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 13, 2010, 05:23 AM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,923
Default

other is HP uses Recovery Partition this why your getting errors on HDD, need to make a drivers disk for your hardware then format all partitions, then install OS
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old March 13, 2010, 08:34 AM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 276
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KaptCrunch View Post
other is HP uses Recovery Partition this why your getting errors on HDD, need to make a drivers disk for your hardware then format all partitions, then install OS
What he said. And I won't bore you with my "they should just give me the freaking install CDs and leave my HDD alone" rant.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old March 13, 2010, 08:34 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Scarborough
Posts: 1,437

My System Specs

Default

I usually use UBCD (ultimate boot cd) to wipe the drive then proceed with the OS install.
__________________


EBAY(http://myworld.ebay.ca/scott0639)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Getting BSOD's like a ***** Kayen Troubleshooting 20 October 31, 2009 12:07 AM
BSOD help! no_pulse O/S's, Drivers & General Software 5 September 20, 2009 06:23 PM
bsod destroyerht Troubleshooting 4 June 19, 2009 02:02 PM
I am geting BSOD when ever I install Xonar dx drivers Shadowmeph O/S's, Drivers & General Software 3 June 6, 2009 05:40 PM
ultimate install closed down after install prebent O/S's, Drivers & General Software 0 September 25, 2008 02:05 AM