Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 19, 2007, 11:10 PM
mattydies's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa Valley, Ontario
Posts: 304

My System Specs

Default No boot after bios change

as of today I have a new BIOS related issue.

If I modify my bios settings and then reboot my computer will not turn on the monitor.

I put in a "new" cpu but I am unsure if this bios issue started before or after this.


If I boot my computer normally and do not touch the bios my computer is starts and runs fast and great.



Any suggestions?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 19, 2007, 11:43 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,951

My System Specs

Default

Did you try clearing the CMOS? I'd recommend flashing to BIOS 0608 as well.
DO NOT flash 0703 or whatever as it basically kills overclocking.

Last edited by JD; October 20, 2007 at 10:46 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 19, 2007, 11:48 PM
mattydies's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa Valley, Ontario
Posts: 304

My System Specs

Default

I just tried clearing the bios - did not help.

THANK YOU SOOOO MUCH for mentioning about the BIOS versions, I was litterally 2 minutes away from loading 703

Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 20, 2007, 10:45 AM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,951

My System Specs

Default

I'd also recommend manually setting your memory timings if you haven't done so already. Usually this board defaults to 1T when most memory is 2T thus causing instabilities. Also manually set the voltage to the manufacturer's suggested value. Probably 2.0V.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 21, 2007, 08:21 PM
mattydies's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa Valley, Ontario
Posts: 304

My System Specs

Default

I had manually set my timings to stock (4-4-4-10) and I had set the voltage to 2, even though 1.9 was stock for my ram. The timing was set at 1 and running fine (or so I believe).

I did not know the difference between 1t and 2t. What is this setting? Difference?

I flashed my Bios and now my computer may or may not activate the monitor (still). when it does, It shows the bios version and seems to STOP just before the memory check.

I cannot get into BIOS or do anything now.

Any thoughts?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GA-P35-DS3R - no bios/boot Mr. Cipher Troubleshooting 5 March 13, 2008 08:25 AM
Career Change Prof. Dr. Silver Off Topic 20 January 19, 2008 11:21 AM
Upgraded Hardware Won't Boot to Bios RGAR Troubleshooting 11 October 24, 2007 08:07 AM
Can't boot to BIOS steve30 Troubleshooting 11 August 28, 2007 06:56 AM
Virtual Bios / Bios Copies Sting3r11 Off Topic 1 March 17, 2007 08:33 AM