Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 3, 2010, 09:02 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 3
Default No video output after upgrading HDD

Hi all, so I upgraded my HDD today from 250GB to 1TB WD Caviar Black. Started to install Windows 7 and I noticed that my desktop would turn off every 2 mins or so. Checked the CPU temperature and noticed it was at 93 C/ 199 F. Reinstalled the heatsink and it looks to be making more contact now as it wasnt when I opened it.

Put it all back together and now I do not get any video output on my monitor. No beeps, no shutdowns, no video. All fans are working, even on the GPU. Mobo light is on, everything was working fine before I installed the HDD. Swapped the video card with an older one I had and still no video. RAM is new, less than 2 months and it was working fine prior. Put my old HDD back in and tested that and still nothing. There is no onboard video either so I can only go through the GPU. The only thing I did was replace the HDD and correct the heatsink at the beginning.

Any help would be great.

Specs:

Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550
ASUS P5K/EPU
Radeon HD 4890 OC edition
8GB Corsair Dominator
WD 1TB Caviar Black
TX750W Corsair

Last edited by mjin12; March 3, 2010 at 09:09 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 3, 2010, 10:46 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 9
Default

When you reinstalled the heatsink did you put new thermal paste on? If not you will need to clean the cpu and heatsink with a cloth and isopropyl alcohol to remove the old paste and apply new paste. Also are you using the stock cooler or a custom cooler? If stock Intel pushpins are sometimes difficult to engage. It's always best to remove the mobo from case and make sure each pin has gone through the holes to ensure good contact
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 3, 2010, 11:42 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Scarborough
Posts: 1,437

My System Specs

Default

CMOS reset should be your first step. You should be able to post. Did your os installation get botched during the shutdowns?
__________________


EBAY(http://myworld.ebay.ca/scott0639)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 4, 2010, 12:22 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,577
Default

CMOS reset indeed. pop the battery out for a good while.

try to start to system with bare minimums -> 1 stick of ram, 1 HDD, no optical. reseat everything (even CPU). swap out with spare parts if needed.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 4, 2010, 06:59 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 3
Default

I reseated the heatsink with the motherboard out of the chassis and the pins did go through. I also tried different video cards, ram, cpu, hdd. Pretty much everything I had before my upgrades. The only things I haven't swapped are the PSU and the Mobo. I'll check resetting the CMOS tonight see if that helps.

Last edited by mjin12; March 4, 2010 at 08:09 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 4, 2010, 07:00 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mo' power View Post
Did your os installation get botched during the shutdowns?
I'm saying that it did because halfway through the installation my computer shutdown due to the CPU overheating.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 4, 2010, 12:24 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 9
Default

does your case have a speaker? Try booting without any sticks of RAM you should be hearing beeps and if there are no beeps the mobo may be the problem. Also try booting with 1 stick of RAM at a time
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 4, 2010, 01:51 PM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 377

My System Specs

Default

Push down on the CMOS battery, sometimes they come loose when handling the motherboard.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old March 4, 2010, 03:57 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,470

My System Specs

Default

It's getting a bit dated, but still covers pretty well all of the steps you'll need to take........

10 Step "No Post" BIOS Recovery Guide
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old March 4, 2010, 04:33 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

+1 Clear CMOS ;)
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[WTB] Socket 775 CPU, PCIe Video, DDR2, SATA HDD Dadi_oh Buy/Sell & Trade 6 December 4, 2009 12:49 PM
[WTB] CPU, Memory, Motherboard, Video card, PSU, Case, HDD wonton1017 Buy/Sell & Trade 3 July 9, 2009 06:39 PM
LF-Cheap ATI video card that can output sound through HDMI. Gunner86 Buy/Sell & Trade 9 November 2, 2008 05:19 PM
tv output Tazer-[X] Video Cards 1 August 17, 2008 11:51 PM
No DVI output? Mibs Troubleshooting 9 September 30, 2007 08:42 AM