Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 17, 2007, 09:50 AM
mattydies's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa Valley, Ontario
Posts: 301

My System Specs

Default RAID Striping - Windows install???

(First time trying a RAID set up)

Can I install windows on a Striped Raid?

I have 2 - 74 gig raptors and would like to run them stripped and install windows on them.

When I go to install windows it claims it does not recognize the discs.

I set up the disks with my bios prior to trying.



Thanks.


Matty
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 17, 2007, 10:16 AM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,879

My System Specs

Default

You need to press F6 during the first screens on the Windows install. Look carefully at the bottom.

Then you need to insert a floppy disk which has the RAID drivers on it for your motherboard.

In Vista it's a bit different though but a lot simpler.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 17, 2007, 10:37 AM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto area.
Posts: 170
Default

I have Vista installed on a striped drive currently, didn't take more then creating the array, setting to bootable and installing windows like I normally would.
__________________
Q6600@3.2ghz
Asus P5N32-E Sli
4gb OCZ Platinum DDR2 @1100mhz
Antec P180
BFG GTX 260 Core 216
Corsair HX-620
Thermaltake Power Express 250W
Raptor150, WD 500gb. WD 300GB
X-Fi Extreme Music
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 17, 2007, 07:53 PM
mattydies's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa Valley, Ontario
Posts: 301

My System Specs

Default

I had to make a Disk from the CD. it took me about 10 or 12 minutes to find a 1.44mb disk, lol... (been a while)

I have it up and going it seems.

Thanks for the help,

GREATLY appreciated


Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WHich Vid drivers and how do I install them Shadowmeph O/S's, Drivers & General Software 0 March 14, 2008 10:56 PM
How to install extra fan like you did trinitron6 Water Cooling 7 September 12, 2007 12:13 PM
Question about initial 1333 FSB support and inital Windows install with evga 680i Mibs CPU's and Motherboards 5 July 23, 2007 11:11 PM
Changing mobo, do I have to re-install Windows? francois methot CPU's and Motherboards 9 July 12, 2007 02:10 PM
IE7-- should I allow it to install? Babrbarossa O/S's, Drivers & General Software 17 April 21, 2007 11:29 PM