Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 12, 2010, 06:57 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,846

My System Specs

Default Sound via HDMI to TV

I finally got a long enough HDMI cable to run to my 52" Samsung TV and ran the cable through some walls, but now I am having no luck getting sound through to my TV. I am running the setup in my sig, but to summarize the board is an ASUS 780g (3200HD). At first I couldn't get my monitor and TV to be recognized at the same time, but I managed to solve that by not running 2 digital sources (switched from DVI and HDMI to VGA and HDMI). Now I have it successfully hooked up as a dual monitor setup, but I am not getting sound on the tv. I have the sound enabled in the bios as well. Any ideas?
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, MSI Cyclone GTX 460, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 12, 2010, 07:05 PM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,038

My System Specs

Default

I'd love to help you but I've got no experience at this point with sound over hdmi as of yet.

But hey, free bump!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 12, 2010, 07:13 PM
yamawho's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Rosemere, Qc, Canada
Posts: 860
Default

What OS are you using ?
XP does not work well if at all ... better with Vista or Windows 7.

Did you enable the device in the sound options ?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 12, 2010, 07:18 PM
headsh0t's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 2,565

My System Specs

Default

Ya you might have trouble running 2 different audio devices, assuming you've got some PC speakers for your computer, but check to see if it is enabled in the sound options like yamawho said.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 12, 2010, 07:20 PM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 2,046

My System Specs

Default what vidiio card

Some vidio cards need a sound cable from moutherbord to vidio card to get sound in HDMI.
__________________
"EVGA hunted down the last dozen or so expats living in Karachi." SKY
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 13, 2010, 08:45 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,846

My System Specs

Default

1. I am still running Windows XP.

2. I am running pc speakers as well as trying to get sound over HDMI.

3. In Control Panel> Sounds and Audio Devices I don't see an option for turning HDMI sound on/off, but it does list the hardware of ATI HDMI Audio as "this device is working properly"

Any more guidance?
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, MSI Cyclone GTX 460, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 13, 2010, 08:54 AM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,072

My System Specs

Default

You probably won't be able to run speakers and output HDMI sound at the same time. Make sure the ATI HDMI device is selected as your output, and configured for 5.1.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old February 13, 2010, 09:12 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,579

My System Specs

Default

You can only choose one output device for sound typically unless its headphones and regular (aka speakers, ht, etc). You will want to make sure you dont have to connect the spdif out of the mobo (which is a 2 pin socket/slot on the motherboard) to that of the graphics card. Typically they include a cable if the card requires it as most mobos work that way unless they have onboard hdmi.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old February 13, 2010, 10:04 AM
yamawho's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Rosemere, Qc, Canada
Posts: 860
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond007 View Post
1. I am still running Windows XP.

2. I am running pc speakers as well as trying to get sound over HDMI.

3. In Control Panel> Sounds and Audio Devices I don't see an option for turning HDMI sound on/off, but it does list the hardware of ATI HDMI Audio as "this device is working properly"

Any more guidance?
Back when I 1st tried to do this with XP, I was not able to even choose the audio device.
All this changed when I installed Vista.
I assume your speakers are plugged into your TV ...
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old February 13, 2010, 10:18 AM
Caldezar's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Burnaby
Posts: 1,689

My System Specs

Default

1. Make sure your HDMI cable is the only audio source outputting from the PC.
2. If you have stereo speakers hooked up to your TV, ensure your TV is capable of audio pass through. (Although you should hear sound from TV speakers at the least.)
3. Make sure you're using an HDMI 1.3 cable. If it's an older HDMI 1.0 cable, I don't believe they are capable of carrying sound.
4. I assume you're running the onboard HDMI connection on the board? If this is the case, plug in ONLY the HDMI cable and reboot the PC with your TV as the primary video. Older onboard HDMI connections used to have sound detection issues with multiple output sources.
5. If you're NOT using the onboard HDMI, ensure your video card is capable of HDMI sound output; and that, if it's required, you have the sound cable hooked up to the card

Hope something in that list helps.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HDMI sound cuts out when i open any game johnnyblazzwa Troubleshooting 3 January 6, 2010 02:25 PM
Sound works through HDMI on TV, none through Speakers Myiagros Audio 6 September 1, 2009 08:51 PM
HDMI and no sound Wurmer Troubleshooting 12 July 3, 2009 04:17 PM
No sound from video card hdmi tcos HTPC Systems & Software 15 April 1, 2009 07:17 PM
No HDMI sound from my P5E-VM biff O/S's, Drivers & General Software 2 January 8, 2009 06:45 PM