Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old February 12, 2010, 06:57 PM
Hall Of Fame

My System Specs

Default Sound via HDMI to TV

I finally got a long enough HDMI cable to run to my 52" Samsung TV and ran the cable through some walls, but now I am having no luck getting sound through to my TV. I am running the setup in my sig, but to summarize the board is an ASUS 780g (3200HD). At first I couldn't get my monitor and TV to be recognized at the same time, but I managed to solve that by not running 2 digital sources (switched from DVI and HDMI to VGA and HDMI). Now I have it successfully hooked up as a dual monitor setup, but I am not getting sound on the tv. I have the sound enabled in the bios as well. Any ideas?
Old February 12, 2010, 07:05 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H

My System Specs

I'd love to help you but I've got no experience at this point with sound over hdmi as of yet.

But hey, free bump!
Old February 12, 2010, 07:13 PM
Allstar

What OS are you using ?
XP does not work well if at all ... better with Vista or Windows 7.

Did you enable the device in the sound options ?
Old February 12, 2010, 07:18 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H

My System Specs

Ya you might have trouble running 2 different audio devices, assuming you've got some PC speakers for your computer, but check to see if it is enabled in the sound options like yamawho said.
Old February 12, 2010, 07:20 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H

My System Specs

Default what vidiio card

Some vidio cards need a sound cable from moutherbord to vidio card to get sound in HDMI.
Old February 13, 2010, 08:45 AM
Hall Of Fame

My System Specs

1. I am still running Windows XP.

2. I am running pc speakers as well as trying to get sound over HDMI.

3. In Control Panel> Sounds and Audio Devices I don't see an option for turning HDMI sound on/off, but it does list the hardware of ATI HDMI Audio as "this device is working properly"

Any more guidance?