Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old January 29, 2010, 07:23 AM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,997

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dead Things View Post
Thanks man, that would be awesome - I'm knocking on wood right now.
Couldnt just stick with Leviathan could you? Dead_things needs more... hehe
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old January 29, 2010, 07:34 AM
Dead Things's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Centre of the Universe
Posts: 1,572

My System Specs

Default

Leviathan is on vacation to RMAville. Sure he'll be back, but I've got needs.

edit - And is it just me, or is HWC suddenly missing a multi-socket/server/workstation forum?
__________________
Follow my folding, mining & benching shenanigans @dt_oc!

Think you can overclock? Then show us what you got!
Join the Hardware Canucks Overclocking team today!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old January 29, 2010, 07:36 AM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,997

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dead Things View Post
Leviathan is on vacation to RMAville. Sure he'll be back, but I've got needs.
Hope it gets well soon then. We have benches to run!
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old January 29, 2010, 07:38 AM
Sagath's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Petawawa, ON
Posts: 2,490

My System Specs

Default

New stipulation required if I get this FX chip: YOU GOTTA FOLD FOR US

No. Really.




I mean it.



Where is our love?
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old January 29, 2010, 07:41 AM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,997

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sagath View Post
New stipulation required if I get this FX chip: YOU GOTTA FOLD FOR US
No. Really.
I mean it.
Where is our love?
When it becomes easy to get a multiproc system to fold, ill join. Till then, adding extra VMs as dummies just to fold is rather annoying.
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old January 29, 2010, 08:02 AM
Dead Things's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Centre of the Universe
Posts: 1,572

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CMetaphor View Post
When it becomes easy to get a multiproc system to fold, ill join.
You didn't hear? It's happening. New SMP folding core for Windows is out now. No more VM's. It's still in its infancy, though, and there are a few issues that are being ironed out. So I'll understand if you don't want to jump on the bandwagon until you know it's stable. But within a couple weeks - you'll be fresh out of excuses.

And Sagath - no deal! We're locked in the throes of a friendly competition doncha know!
__________________
Follow my folding, mining & benching shenanigans @dt_oc!

Think you can overclock? Then show us what you got!
Join the Hardware Canucks Overclocking team today!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old January 29, 2010, 08:05 AM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,997

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dead Things View Post
You didn't hear? It's happening. New SMP folding core for Windows is out now. No more VM's. It's still in its infancy, though, and there are a few issues that are being ironed out. So I'll understand if you don't want to jump on the bandwagon until you know it's stable. But within a couple weeks - you'll be fresh out of excuses.

And Sagath - no deal! We're locked in the throes of a friendly competition doncha know!
alright then. come a stable SMP release that works (hopefully with bigadv too) without issues, im in. At least once in a while.

in the meantime, someone get this guy an FX already, sheesh. he totally wants a 4x4 system.
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old January 29, 2010, 11:13 AM
odis172's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 683

My System Specs

Default

Forgive my noobness, would dual proc lift the cpu bottleneck with high end gfx cards when gaming? Besides folding what could one possibly use this for at home?
__________________
Laptop: Lenovo T420 - Core i5 2520 - 8GB DDR3
Server: 2 xeon E5530 - Asus Z8N-D6 - 12GB DDR3 - 8x 500GB raid 50 - Perc 6/i - Compucase RA448A00
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old January 29, 2010, 12:34 PM
Dead Things's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Centre of the Universe
Posts: 1,572

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by odis172 View Post
Besides folding what could one possibly use this for at home?
From a performance perspective, this is basically not entirely dissimilar to an i7 setup, only this has eight physical cores, whereas an i7 would have 8 logical cores. So on CPU-bound tasks like encoding (or folding), this would outperform an i7 clock-for-clock.

For gaming, it is not necessarily an improvement of any sort since most games can't use four cores, let alone eight. But for a multi-socket board, this has good graphics bandwidth thanks to the nf680a chipset - which is why I think it's more comparable to an i7 rig than to other server-class dual-socket systems.

So if I can get it for the price I think I can, it could be a reasonable facsimile of an i7 at basically a third the cost.
__________________
Follow my folding, mining & benching shenanigans @dt_oc!

Think you can overclock? Then show us what you got!
Join the Hardware Canucks Overclocking team today!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old January 29, 2010, 12:46 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,586

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dead Things View Post
You didn't hear? It's happening. New SMP folding core for Windows is out now. No more VM's. It's still in its infancy, though, and there are a few issues that are being ironed out. So I'll understand if you don't want to jump on the bandwagon until you know it's stable. But within a couple weeks - you'll be fresh out of excuses.
Yeah, would be nice if they iron out all the issues since right now if i run it on my system, WITH the bonus included (FHM.NET) and using the bonus calculator linuxrouter made my pdd on my i7 920 @ 3.8GHz was around 7k which is very off to people getting double that or even getting 9k ppd with old 1920 wu's.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[WTB] Want to buy/borrow cheap DDR3 ChuckleBrother Buy/Sell & Trade 0 July 8, 2009 07:25 PM