Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old January 28, 2010, 10:17 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 19
Default

Alright so I tried going into BIOS but there is absolutely no option to let me disable the on board video card. Is there something I am missing?
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old January 28, 2010, 10:24 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Scarborough
Posts: 1,437

My System Specs

Default

look for an option that says something like "boot vga primary pci-e" my intel matx asus had the same thing. you can't disable but just change the boot order.
__________________


EBAY(http://myworld.ebay.ca/scott0639)
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old January 28, 2010, 11:06 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 19
Default

I did look for it

All it has is:

Start Windows Normally
Run Memory Diagnostic Tool
Press F8 for MENU. When I press F8, it gives me:

Start Windows Normally
Start Windows in Safe Mode
Start Windows in Safe mode with Networking
Load drivers on startup
Enable low resolution display

There are a couple more (I forgot) but they dont relate to the video card.

Also the BOOT screen is not the usual BOOT screen we are used to seeing (the blue one with options on the top). This is a black screen typically like the one you see when u hit "Delete" key if u want to access safe mode
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old January 28, 2010, 12:41 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 19
Default

Is there only one button to press to gain access to BIOS?
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old January 28, 2010, 01:24 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,406

My System Specs

Default

1. Turn on computer
2. Immediately start pressing the 'delete' button. Press several times. (Your monitor may not get a signal right away, so if you wait for the monitor signal to come, it may be too late and all you will see is the Windows load screen you described earlier).
3. You should see the bios screen. Look for a screen like this one:



Down at the bottom, where it says 'Video', select something that says 'external', 'PCI-E', etc. If you see nothing like that, please post the options listed under the 'Video' section.

If your Bios screen looks nothing like the above, you will need to look around for the 'Advanced' section like the screenshot below:


Select 'PCI-E' or similar, and re-install the video card.
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old January 28, 2010, 08:45 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 19
Default

Chriskwarren, I tried pressing the "delete" key repeatedly and still it takes me to a black screen which is clearly not the BIOS. It gives me options to wheter i want to start windows in different wants, enable boot logging or run diagnostic tools.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old January 28, 2010, 09:09 PM
bushwhacker's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Lake of the Woods
Posts: 286
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by flyingdutchman View Post
[...]
Computer Specs:

Windows 7 64-bit
AMD X3
3.0GB RAM
ATI 4860 video card
Motherboard: ASUS M2N68-LA
Motherboard Chipset: nVIDIA nForce 6150SE-430
BIOS Type: Award BIOS
Hard Disk: Hitachi Disk Drive (298GB)
This is an HP/Compaq product ... no?????????
Use the HP site &/or manual to determine the method of accessing the BIOS.
It may also be displayed on screen during boot. Use the Pause/Break key to stop the boot process so you can read the screen.

scroogle: M2N68-LA - first result

Motherboard Specifications, M2N68-LA (Narra) Compaq Presario SR5019UK Desktop PC - HP technical support (Germany - English)

Motherboard description
  • Motherboard manufacturer's name: Asus M2N68-LA
  • HP/Compaq name: Narra-GL8E
BIOS features
  • System BIOS core brand: Award
  • Keyboard combination to used to enter BIOS: F10
time you started reading the manual ...
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old January 28, 2010, 09:19 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 19
Default

I installed Windows Debugging Tool and ran the dump file error that I got after I got my Blue Screen and this is what I got:


Microsoft (R) Windows Debugger Version 6.11.0001.404 AMD64
Copyright (c) Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.


Loading Dump File [C:\Windows\Minidump\010108-20280-01.dmp]
Mini Kernel Dump File: Only registers and stack trace are available

Symbol search path is: SRV*c:\symbols*Symbol information
Executable search path is:
Windows 7 Kernel Version 7600 MP (3 procs) Free x64
Product: WinNt, suite: TerminalServer SingleUserTS
Built by: 7600.16385.amd64fre.win7_rtm.090713-1255
Machine Name:
Kernel base = 0xfffff800`02a51000 PsLoadedModuleList = 0xfffff800`02c8ee50
Debug session time: Wed Jan 27 21:14:23.585 2010 (GMT-5)
System Uptime: 0 days 3:32:30.801
Loading Kernel Symbols
.................................................. .............
.................................................. ..............
......................
Loading User Symbols
Loading unloaded module list
.........
************************************************** *****************************
* *
* Bugcheck Analysis *
* *
************************************************** *****************************

Use !analyze -v to get detailed debugging information.

BugCheck 1000007E, {ffffffffc0000005, fffff80002ac6105, fffff8800318d338, fffff8800318cb90}

Probably caused by : ntkrnlmp.exe ( nt!ExpInterlockedPopEntrySListFault16+0 )

Followup: MachineOwner
---------

0: kd> !analyze -v
************************************************** *****************************
* *
* Bugcheck Analysis *
* *
************************************************** *****************************

SYSTEM_THREAD_EXCEPTION_NOT_HANDLED_M (1000007e)
This is a very common bugcheck. Usually the exception address pinpoints
the driver/function that caused the problem. Always note this address
as well as the link date of the driver/image that contains this address.
Some common problems are exception code 0x80000003. This means a hard
coded breakpoint or assertion was hit, but this system was booted
/NODEBUG. This is not supposed to happen as developers should never have
hardcoded breakpoints in retail code, but ...
If this happens, make sure a debugger gets connected, and the
system is booted /DEBUG. This will let us see why this breakpoint is
happening.
Arguments:
Arg1: ffffffffc0000005, The exception code that was not handled
Arg2: fffff80002ac6105, The address that the exception occurred at
Arg3: fffff8800318d338, Exception Record Address
Arg4: fffff8800318cb90, Context Record Address

Debugging Details:
------------------


EXCEPTION_CODE: (NTSTATUS) 0xc0000005 - The instruction at 0x%08lx referenced memory at 0x%08lx. The memory could not be %s.

FAULTING_IP:
nt!ExpInterlockedPopEntrySListFault16+0
fffff800`02ac6105 498b08 mov rcx,qword ptr [r8]

EXCEPTION_RECORD: fffff8800318d338 -- (.exr 0xfffff8800318d338)
ExceptionAddress: fffff80002ac6105 (nt!ExpInterlockedPopEntrySListFault16)
ExceptionCode: c0000005 (Access violation)
ExceptionFlags: 00000000
NumberParameters: 2
Parameter[0]: 0000000000000000
Parameter[1]: ffffffffffffffff
Attempt to read from address ffffffffffffffff

CONTEXT: fffff8800318cb90 -- (.cxr 0xfffff8800318cb90)
rax=000000125384001c rbx=0000000000001000 rcx=fffff80002c49b90
rdx=00fffa8002f07001 rsi=0000000000000001 rdi=0000000000000000
rip=fffff80002ac6105 rsp=fffff8800318d570 rbp=fffff8800318d5c0
r8=00fffa8002f07000 r9=0000000063416d4d r10=fffff80002c49b90
r11=0000000000000000 r12=0000000000000000 r13=0000000000000000
r14=0000000000000000 r15=0000000063416d4d
iopl=0 nv up ei pl nz na po nc
cs=0010 ss=0018 ds=002b es=002b fs=0053 gs=002b efl=00010206
nt!ExpInterlockedPopEntrySListFault16:
fffff800`02ac6105 498b08 mov rcx,qword ptr [r8] ds:002b:00fffa80`02f07000=????????????????
Resetting default scope

CUSTOMER_CRASH_COUNT: 1

DEFAULT_BUCKET_ID: VISTA_DRIVER_FAULT

PROCESS_NAME: chrome.exe

CURRENT_IRQL: 0

ERROR_CODE: (NTSTATUS) 0xc0000005 - The instruction at 0x%08lx referenced memory at 0x%08lx. The memory could not be %s.

EXCEPTION_PARAMETER1: 0000000000000000

EXCEPTION_PARAMETER2: ffffffffffffffff

READ_ADDRESS: GetPointerFromAddress: unable to read from fffff80002cf90e0
ffffffffffffffff

FOLLOWUP_IP:
nt!ExpInterlockedPopEntrySListFault16+0
fffff800`02ac6105 498b08 mov rcx,qword ptr [r8]

BUGCHECK_STR: 0x7E

LAST_CONTROL_TRANSFER: from fffff80002bf24b1 to fffff80002ac6105

STACK_TEXT:
fffff880`0318d570 fffff800`02bf24b1 : 00000000`00000000 00000000`0000000e 00000000`00000001 00000000`00040004 : nt!ExpInterlockedPopEntrySListFault16
fffff880`0318d580 fffff800`02ad5860 : 00000000`00001000 fffff800`02c50880 00000000`00000000 655d2ac6`00000000 : nt!MiAllocatePoolPages+0xa1
fffff880`0318d6d0 fffff800`02bf5bfe : 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 fffff800`02c50880 : nt!ExpAllocateBigPool+0xb0
fffff880`0318d7c0 fffff800`02bc7a24 : fffffa80`00040004 00000000`00001000 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 : nt!ExAllocatePoolWithTag+0x82e
fffff880`0318d8b0 fffff800`02bc7bf6 : fffffa80`02afb000 00000000`00006485 fffff680`0009f5e8 00000000`00000000 : nt!MiAllocateAccessLog+0xb4
fffff880`0318d8e0 fffff800`02b2b1d8 : 00000003`00000000 c8500000`a6549867 00000000`00000000 00000000`00006485 : nt!MiLogPageAccess+0x46
fffff880`0318d930 fffff800`02b43a0e : fffffa80`060249c8 fffff880`00000001 00000000`00000001 fffff880`0318dbb0 : nt! ?? ::FNODOBFM::`string'+0x21846
fffff880`0318dae0 fffff800`02ad76e2 : 00000000`000031cf 00000000`00000000 fffffa80`00000000 00000000`00000004 : nt! ?? ::FNODOBFM::`string'+0x49926
fffff880`0318db80 fffff800`02ad796f : 00000000`00000008 fffff880`0318dc10 00000000`00000001 fffffa80`00000000 : nt!MmWorkingSetManager+0x6e
fffff880`0318dbd0 fffff800`02d66166 : fffffa80`025d9680 00000000`00000080 fffffa80`024d6040 00000000`00000001 : nt!KeBalanceSetManager+0x1c3
fffff880`0318dd40 fffff800`02aa1486 : fffff800`02c3be80 fffffa80`025d9680 fffff800`02c49c40 00000000`00000000 : nt!PspSystemThreadStartup+0x5a
fffff880`0318dd80 00000000`00000000 : fffff880`0318e000 fffff880`03188000 fffff880`0318d710 00000000`00000000 : nt!KxStartSystemThread+0x16


SYMBOL_STACK_INDEX: 0

SYMBOL_NAME: nt!ExpInterlockedPopEntrySListFault16+0

FOLLOWUP_NAME: MachineOwner

MODULE_NAME: nt

IMAGE_NAME: ntkrnlmp.exe

DEBUG_FLR_IMAGE_TIMESTAMP: 4a5bc600

STACK_COMMAND: .cxr 0xfffff8800318cb90 ; kb

FAILURE_BUCKET_ID: X64_0x7E_nt!ExpInterlockedPopEntrySListFault16+0

BUCKET_ID: X64_0x7E_nt!ExpInterlockedPopEntrySListFault16+0

Followup: MachineOwner
---------



Looking from this I can see that ntkrnlmp.exe is causing the problem. But what the hell is that?
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old January 28, 2010, 10:02 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 19
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bushwhacker View Post
This is an HP/Compaq product ... no?????????
Use the HP site &/or manual to determine the method of accessing the BIOS.
It may also be displayed on screen during boot. Use the Pause/Break key to stop the boot process so you can read the screen.

scroogle: M2N68-LA - first result

Motherboard Specifications, M2N68-LA (Narra) Compaq Presario SR5019UK Desktop PC - HP technical support (Germany - English)

Motherboard description
  • Motherboard manufacturer's name: Asus M2N68-LA
  • HP/Compaq name: Narra-GL8E
BIOS features
  • System BIOS core brand: Award
  • Keyboard combination to used to enter BIOS: F10
time you started reading the manual ...

Ok so apparently, I am supposed to hold down F10. Anyways, so I got to the BIOS (FINALLY!!!!) and went to primary video adapter and it was already on PCI. I clicked it and it gave me three other options, PCI-Ex1, PCI-Ex16 and Onboard. So I selected PCI-Ex16. Was that a good move?

I am now running MemTest86+
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old January 28, 2010, 10:34 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 95
Default

If you're using an HP/Compaq, are you using the stock power supply? Maybe the puny 300 Watt (peak) power supply it came with isn't enough to power your after market graphics card.

Quote:
Originally Posted by flyingdutchman View Post
Ok so apparently, I am supposed to hold down F10. Anyways, so I got to the BIOS (FINALLY!!!!) and went to primary video adapter and it was already on PCI. I clicked it and it gave me three other options, PCI-Ex1, PCI-Ex16 and Onboard. So I selected PCI-Ex16. Was that a good move?

I am now running MemTest86+
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Random Freezing and Black Screens jcmaz Troubleshooting 20 January 3, 2010 07:18 AM
Asus Poor QA for LCD screens and stuck pixel policy atrocious JohnathanKong Display Units 1 November 23, 2009 11:57 AM
See the Laptop With Two Full-sized Screens Unknownm Press Releases & Tech News 4 September 4, 2009 06:07 AM
Glossy Framed Screens enaberif Display Units 16 February 27, 2008 09:47 AM
Is AB ever not going to be blue? Eldonko Off Topic 4 February 23, 2008 09:49 AM