Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 25, 2010, 08:48 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 4
Default memory or mobo problem

I just built a system

i5-750
GA-p55a-ud4p
OCZ 2x2gb ddr3-1333
samsung 1tb
powercolor hd 5770 pcs+
antec 650w
lg dvd writer
window 7 64bit

computer freeze with one color on screen (all red, or all grey, etc) when i am playing 3d intensive games or just surfing the net.
So I tested with prime95 and memtest86+ v4.0...
With several test done, sometimes pass and sometimes fail.
I tried using one memory at a time...both sticks... passed and failed some.
I tried using timings of 9-9-9-20(CAS, tRCD, tRP, tRAS), command rate of 2t, and 1.65 volts (except my mobo can select 1.64 or 1.66) instead of auto setting. Still passed and failed some.
I updated bios to f7c....still passed and failed some.
so I exchanged the memory(same type)...still passed and failed some of test.

System tends to fail more often when I use the memory frequency of 1333.
so when I come online or do some work ...I use 1066 speed. still this setting fails too.

Nothing is overclocked...

any suggestion would be really helpful...thanks in advance.

Last edited by kanganova; January 25, 2010 at 09:30 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 25, 2010, 08:50 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,797

My System Specs

Default

what's the actual model# of the memory?
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 25, 2010, 09:02 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 4
Default

here is the spec....

OCZ3G1333LV4GK
DDR3-1333
PC3-10666 CL
9-9-9-20 Dual Channel
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 26, 2010, 07:40 AM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

try to get the memory voltage a little up or get the timing or frequency down a little and see if that can help. If no, OCZ memory is wierd to troubleshot and you will have great sucess doing it on their forum. They have plenty of employee that spend day long only doing this on forum. Keep us up to date.
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 26, 2010, 01:01 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 3
Default

Sounds like mem controller on MB to me just a guess though
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 26, 2010, 03:41 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 4
Default

I tried lower memory frequency of 800 ....still failed test of prime95....
although I dont seem to get the fail test on memtest86+ last 5 test or so with different frequency.

is there cpu testing program or memory controller ??? only thing I tested is cpu temp which is lower than 60 on load.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 26, 2010, 03:59 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,797

My System Specs

Default

It's possible that it's just an incompatibility between that memory and the motherboard. I noticed you had a thread over in the OCZ forums.... have you had a response yet?

In my experience, if it errors while using a memtest bootdisk (Google UBCD) it's more than likely a problem with the memory itself. Testing from within OS makes it a lot harder to determine what part is at fault.

Do you have access to another stick of memory to test? Have you tried testing just one stick of memory in the different slots?
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 26, 2010, 04:12 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Acton, Ont
Posts: 880
Default

Ummm Video, Driver Issue?

Ram Fails no matter what...


I hate OCZ as much as the next guy BUT...
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 26, 2010, 04:17 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 4
Default

I emailed them about the problem and responses I got was changing memory timing and asked if I tested memtest one stick at a time which I did and found the errors and got them exchanged.
I got error on first run test but havent got the errors on last five test or so.
Memtest86+ v4.0 is done on boot cd....

No I dont have any extra memory to test on my system...and all of my friends still using ddr2.
I havent test the memory on different slot yet....I will try that later.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
780i bios/memory problem dukelod Troubleshooting 6 December 31, 2009 03:48 PM
p5q-e + patriot memory problem Finch RAM 74 November 13, 2008 04:05 PM
xfx 680i memory problem t0m Troubleshooting 49 March 21, 2008 03:19 PM
Memory problem with new build francois methot CPU's and Motherboards 10 July 23, 2007 10:50 AM
...is it a memory problem? francois methot Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 9 March 24, 2007 12:33 AM