Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 7, 2010, 05:44 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 16
Default Radeon 5770 crashing when ever I play games.

I just recently built a new computer. I have been having problems when ever I play games with high settings my computer crashes after a few minutes. The computer either reboots itself or the screen will go black and lock up the computer. I am assuming its the graphics card but I'm not completely sure. I ran a memory test earlier today so im pretty sure its not that. I also monitored my temperature of the chip and the gpu the cpu was running in the 30's C and the card ranged from 40-60c. I have updated all my [COLOR=blue !important][COLOR=blue !important]drivers[/COLOR][/COLOR], gotten all the recent updates for my [COLOR=blue !important][COLOR=blue !important]windows[/COLOR][/COLOR] 7, and Flashed the most recnet bios onto my chip, I also tried disabling my onboard graphics card (from what I read it does it automatically). When ever im not playing games the computer runs perfect, internet runs fast, streams video well, so im not real sure whats going on. Please help.

My card is the xfx radeon 5770

Im running windows 7 64 bit OEM

Motherboard
Asus m4a785std-m evo

Chip
AMD Phenom II X4 955 Black Edition Deneb 3.2GHz Socket AM3 125W Quad-Core [COLOR=blue !important][COLOR=blue !important]Processor[/COLOR][/COLOR]

PSU
Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W Continuous Power ATX12V Ver.2.2 / EPS12V version 2.91 SLI Certified CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS Certified

Memory
G.SKILL ECO Series 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666) Desktop Memory Model F3-10666CL9D-4GBECO

[COLOR=blue !important][COLOR=blue !important]Hard [COLOR=blue !important]Drive[/COLOR][/COLOR][/COLOR]
Western Digital Caviar Blue WD5000AAKS 500GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive -Bare Drive

Case
AZZA Helios 910 Black Japanese SECC Steel ATX [COLOR=blue !important][COLOR=blue !important]Mid [COLOR=blue !important]Tower[/COLOR][/COLOR][/COLOR] Computer Case - Retail
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 7, 2010, 07:02 PM
RONEDOGG's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Dartmouth Nova Scotia
Posts: 122

My System Specs

Default

i would recommend testing each main part in another system. start with vid card and cpu. then try motherboard and ram. to help pinpoint.

did you set any bios setting?
in some cases "out the box" no motherboard is properly configured for all components epically the memory. maybe your memory is not running at its designed timings and voltages
__________________
Get off my lawn boy
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 7, 2010, 07:40 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 16
Default

I think Im going to try setting the timings and voltages on my memory first... If that dosent work I may try running a game on the onboard graphics card to see if that works or if it cuts out as well. I dont really have another computer to test the parts in... I might try putting the video card in my old computer but I dont know if it will be able to handle it...
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 8, 2010, 04:34 AM
Finch's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 238
Default

you told us the gfx temperature when idle but not when on load. I doubt it is the problem but maybe it is worth to look towards that. Do you have proper case ventillation? that might also help. Also i would check you're power supply maybe swap with an other one same wattage or higher. Did you updated with lastest drivers? Did you format maybe?
__________________
If you are an overclocker please come and participate to the HWC Benchmarks Competitions, look for the stickies.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 8, 2010, 05:25 AM
Dr_BenD_over's Avatar
Fallen Folder
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,418

My System Specs

Default

I would completely remove the drivers and any related ATI software and then re-install for starters.

Also if your forcing AA from the CCC, some games really don't like that and tend to crash.

Try disabling VPU recovery in the CCC, sometimes this causes more issues than it solves.
__________________
All's well that's Haswell
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 8, 2010, 10:12 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 299

My System Specs

Default

I'm not an expert but i have been reading alot on people throwing some model's of low profile GPU's in hp slimlines model's with 160-180 watt psu

Some actually work, many dont


I bring this up because many of the failed attempts on putting a lowprofile graphics card into the slimlines seem to fail similar to what your describing. However, your psu should be more then able to handle what your throwing at it

perhaps your psu is not working properly, not sure if you can get it tested but i would bet you can
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 8, 2010, 10:17 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 299

My System Specs

Default

also , not sure if that card takes two connections or one, if it only takes one maybe try to plug it in with the other connection seeing how your psu is sli ready

might be worth a try if you havent tried it, or a 2 second waiste of time
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 8, 2010, 12:43 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 16
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Finch View Post
you told us the gfx temperature when idle but not when on load. I doubt it is the problem but maybe it is worth to look towards that. Do you have proper case ventillation? that might also help. Also i would check you're power supply maybe swap with an other one same wattage or higher. Did you updated with lastest drivers? Did you format maybe?
The idle temp is aroudn 30c when I was playing before it would crash was close to 60c
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 9, 2010, 08:38 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 16
Default

I took the video card out last night after trying a few more things. As of now im using the onboard graphics and have been able to play my game for several hours straight with out a crash. I have to have the graphics settings very low to play it but its playable. Would this mean that there is probably something with the card that I got?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old January 9, 2010, 09:08 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,828

My System Specs

Default

well if it works fine without it in then i would lean towards that
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Old games you still play? btecanada Gaming 78 January 18, 2010 11:04 AM
Radeon 5770 V2 models Fudd Rucker Video Cards 0 December 17, 2009 01:04 PM
directcanada.com - Sapphire Radeon HD 5770 backpack New Builds 6 December 16, 2009 05:29 PM
Can't Play Games: DirectX Unrecoverable Error jcmaz Troubleshooting 5 July 10, 2009 05:15 PM
What Games do you Play? arekieh Gaming 28 October 21, 2008 02:59 PM