Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 21, 2009, 03:04 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 86

My System Specs

Default Why is CPU-Z showing different ram bandwidth?

I baught the Patriot Viper 6gb DDR3 PC3 10666 tripple channel and In CPU-Z
It is showing my ram as PC3-8500f (533MHz) for max bandwith.

Did tigerdirect cheat me and give me the wrong ram ? I baught it in store...and the guy said it was the last one...Or is my motherboard not compatible?? Or is there some bios settting I have to do?

It reads the ram right at 2gb each piece but I dont understand...

hope you guys can help love u guys.
__________________
Build: i7-920, EVGA GTX 285, XFX X58i Extreme Edition , 2GB x 3 DDR3 - Patriot Viper, ThermalTake M9 V1000series, Ultra LSP 650w, Western Digital 500GB @7200rpm,
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 21, 2009, 03:11 PM
Jake_HT's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 1,984

My System Specs

Default

533x2 = 1066

not 10666

DDR = Double data rate.. double the clock you see in CPU-Z to get data rate

My 1600MHz RAM says 800MHz in CPU-Z, it is correct.
__________________
http://jakeht.deviantart.com/
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 21, 2009, 03:15 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 518

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jake_HT View Post
533x2 = 1066

not 10666

DDR = Double data rate.. double the clock you see in CPU-Z..

My 1600MHz RAM says 800MHz in CPU-Z, it is correct.
^ Yep. Everything is as it should be.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 21, 2009, 03:48 PM
3oh6's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 1,052
Default

sorry guys but you are wrong, here is a little refresher on how memory is classified...

PC3-8500 = DDR3-1066 = 533MHz
PC3-10666 = DDR3-1333 = 667MHz
PC3-12800 = DDR3-1600 = 800MHz
PC3-16000 = DDR3-2000 = 1000MHz

...and so on and so forth. the OP purchased PC3-10666 memory and in the SPD tab it is showing as Max Bandwith of only PC3-8500. this is not uncommon and certainly no big deal. the Max Bandwidth programed into the SPD of memory is often wrong, take for instance the PC3-16000 OCZ Blade memory that i reviewed here at HWC...



same PC3-8500F despite being completely different memory. JEDEC specs to the rescue, in order to be compliant with JEDEC specification, this is how memory has to be programmed, no worries. all modules will either be 8500F or 10700H here for the most part.

what you are interested in is the Memory tab of CPU-Z as that tells you what your memory is actually operating at. in the Memory tab, your DRAM Frequency should be 533MHz if your memory is running at spec, and it might be, but it also might not be. if it isn't, you will need to adjust the memory ratio and possibly set voltages and timings to compensate and get your memory to run at spec, by default, memory doesn't run at its ratings unless they are XMP compitable, they simply run at the lowest possible to allow POST.

if you need further assistance in getting your memory running at spec, we'll need your motherboard model, a link ot the memory you have, and a screen shot of your 'Memory' tab from CPU-s wouldn't hurt.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 21, 2009, 03:54 PM
Jake_HT's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 1,984

My System Specs

Default

oops. you got me
__________________
http://jakeht.deviantart.com/
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 23, 2009, 11:25 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 86

My System Specs

Default

thanks for the helpful replies. I will show you a screen shot of it.

Is everything running normal? I didnt touch the voltages. I have an XFX x58i motherboard.
and Patriot Viper Memory Buy the Patriot Viper Tri Channel 6GB PC10666 DDR3 Memory at TigerDirect.ca
__________________
Build: i7-920, EVGA GTX 285, XFX X58i Extreme Edition , 2GB x 3 DDR3 - Patriot Viper, ThermalTake M9 V1000series, Ultra LSP 650w, Western Digital 500GB @7200rpm,
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 23, 2009, 11:45 AM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

Yes everything is fine. Is it me or everythime some one get something at tigerdirect store it's the last one in stock???
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 23, 2009, 12:26 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 86

My System Specs

Default

lol I dont know, If you get a good sales guy they go and check in the back. The guy who was helping me was really nice, he helped me alot and yea he put effort into actually trying to find cheaper better parts for me in the back.

But Tiger direct store they are usualy out of stock.. I was supposed to get the i5 but out of stock so I went with i7...which isnt so bad lol ;).

And they dont have everything they have on the web.
Its all about luck.
__________________
Build: i7-920, EVGA GTX 285, XFX X58i Extreme Edition , 2GB x 3 DDR3 - Patriot Viper, ThermalTake M9 V1000series, Ultra LSP 650w, Western Digital 500GB @7200rpm,
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bandwidth Monitor impruv O/S's, Drivers & General Software 8 November 18, 2009 07:00 PM
F@H montly bandwidth usage. Lima HardwareCanucks F@H Team 5 November 11, 2009 11:10 PM
Let's see the most bandwidth usage in 1 month Myiagros Off Topic 42 November 1, 2009 01:11 AM
Folding bandwidth punk_zappa Networking 18 March 17, 2009 04:53 PM
bandwidth caps :( belgolas Off Topic 23 December 7, 2008 12:49 AM