Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #41 (permalink)  
Old October 14, 2007, 09:14 AM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

you did put on some thermal interface material before you re-applied the heatsinks, right?
Reply With Quote
  #42 (permalink)  
Old October 14, 2007, 09:28 AM
Robscix's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 762
Default

That could have definitely been your issue. Just RMA the mobo, it has been enough of a headache for you. I just built a system not even two weeks ago and I was ready for troubleshooting. I was pleasantly surprised when the machine started up fine and ran fine ever since. I am very surprised. there is usually something that is wrong... Good luck with your RMA.
Reply With Quote
  #43 (permalink)  
Old October 14, 2007, 09:51 AM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

Robscix is right- I just can't help but digging until I find out what's wrong- at least now you can make a specific complaint when you RMA and you know that it's not something you did wrong. Even if you can get it seated nicely, there could already be some silicon migration due to the heat and you should still send it back to the jerks. Mobo manus have to get their act together on quality control for the heatsink seatings- it seems to be a common problem.
Reply With Quote
  #44 (permalink)  
Old October 14, 2007, 04:54 PM
Asspigeon's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 57
Default

Yes I used AS5 on the heatsinks. This is going to be even more of a headache than normal because I am going to have to RMA my CPU cooler as well, the backplate for my Tuniq Tower is stuck to the bottom of the mobo. The really depressing thing is I had a similar problem with my old Asus A8N32-SLI Deluxe, the mobo heatsink was loose and I got similar crashes whenever I had both cards (7950GT x2) in and it got too hot out.

So from my original NCIX order I am going to have to RMA 3 things:

- defective Corsair ram
- overheating motherboard
- CPU cooler

Depressing to say the least! One final question, how many times can you clean/reseat a Q6600? I must have already done it 4~6 times trying to figure out all of the problems I have been having with this build. I'm afraid that I am going to bend a pin somewhere and end up spending another $300 on a new one.
Reply With Quote
  #45 (permalink)  
Old October 14, 2007, 05:04 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,564

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Asspigeon View Post
Yes I used AS5 on the heatsinks. This is going to be even more of a headache than normal because I am going to have to RMA my CPU cooler as well, the backplate for my Tuniq Tower is stuck to the bottom of the mobo. The really depressing thing is I had a similar problem with my old Asus A8N32-SLI Deluxe, the mobo heatsink was loose and I got similar crashes whenever I had both cards (7950GT x2) in and it got too hot out.

So from my original NCIX order I am going to have to RMA 3 things:

- defective Corsair ram
- overheating motherboard
- CPU cooler

Depressing to say the least! One final question, how many times can you clean/reseat a Q6600? I must have already done it 4~6 times trying to figure out all of the problems I have been having with this build. I'm afraid that I am going to bend a pin somewhere and end up spending another $300 on a new one.
Since you're RMA'ing the motherboard you have no worries.... the fragile bits on S775 are the pins on the motherboard socket. I've seen suggestions that they're only considered good for around 15 CPU installations before they start to wear out.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #46 (permalink)  
Old October 14, 2007, 05:13 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,648

My System Specs

Default

I'm up to 21 CPU installations (and still counting) on my DS3L - no problems to report.

Yet.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #47 (permalink)  
Old October 14, 2007, 05:40 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,564

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
I'm up to 21 CPU installations (and still counting) on my DS3L - no problems to report.

Yet.
Great..... now we need a "knocking on wood" smiley......... :)
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #48 (permalink)  
Old October 14, 2007, 05:45 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,648

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
Great..... now we need a "knocking on wood" smiley......... :)
Most definitely...
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #49 (permalink)  
Old October 14, 2007, 05:48 PM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,248

My System Specs

Default

First thing I do with a new Mob or GFX is strip off the TIM and replace it with something decent like AS5, if like a lot of mobo's the heatsinks are chinsy then I replace them too. But then again my Mobo doesn't run heatpipes :)
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New computer belgolas CPU's and Motherboards 23 September 20, 2007 06:59 PM
My new computer. Come see please :P Song CPU's and Motherboards 10 September 15, 2007 09:25 AM
New Computer darksideleader CPU's and Motherboards 10 August 1, 2007 11:59 AM
Growl!!! BF2142 Crashes in VISTA CMetaphor Gaming 5 June 6, 2007 10:42 AM
New computer help. Sabotage CPU's and Motherboards 1 May 4, 2007 06:25 PM