Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old December 10, 2009, 12:33 PM
Rookie

Default Spilled water, now won't power on.

Specs:

• Intel Core i7 920
  • Gigabyte EX58-UD3R rev. 1.6
  • XFX Radeon HD 4890
  • Patriot Extreme Performance Viper 6GB 3x2GB DDR3-1333
  • 2x WD Caviar Black 1TB
  • PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W PSU
  • Coolermaster Hyper 212 Plus heatsink
  • Case fans + a bunch of cheap GELID fans
  • Coolarmaster cm 690 case
Someone spilled water into the case (the top is mesh) while it was powered on. It promptly bluescreened, and now won't power on. When the PSU is switched on and power button pressed, nothing happens. Fans don't start, no LEDs turn on, no beeps, no noise.

However, my USB-powered light-up mini xmas tree thing still works, so I'm inclined to believe the PSU survived (and part of the motherboard too?).

I'm not really a hardware expert, but my preliminary guess is motherboard and/or CPU (the most expensive parts, go figure...). Is there any way to test the motherboard, CPU, and possibly PSU when the machine won't power up?

Thanks, and sorry that my first post is asking for help. >.>
Old December 10, 2009, 12:38 PM
Rookie

I've seen something similar happen before, no guarantees but in my case the only thing that got fried was the Motherboard....can't promise anything but a little hope maybe.
Old December 10, 2009, 12:40 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H

My System Specs

Ouch that sucks. Only way to test is to have more parts around. Another 1336 CPU for your mobo, another mobo for your i7. You could maybe take it to a hardware shop and get them to test it for you.
Old December 10, 2009, 12:44 PM
Rookie