Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 9, 2009, 12:22 PM
andynerd's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 365
Default Is this definatly the motherboard or psu?

I Tested the green power_on wire and it said 3v, When I hooked everything up and hit the power switch the voltage never changed. Could this possibly mean the motherboard is dead? I also tested the leads where the power switch connects to and it is getting power it has a slightly higher voltage (.1-.3 higher) but nothing major. The board is a p5pe-vm.
__________________
"let the geek be with you"
Specs: Asus G74SX
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 9, 2009, 12:31 PM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default

a short test to know if the psu work is to use a jumper to short the green wire and the black wire at his side , it will turn on the PSU . of course do this with the 20 or 24 connectors removed from the motherboard.

Last edited by MarkOne; December 9, 2009 at 12:52 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 9, 2009, 12:59 PM
andynerd's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 365
Default

it turned on so i guess that means motherboard -_- lovely. But I can't be surprised the onboard lan doesn't work and it was used as a home server for 2-3 years.
__________________
"let the geek be with you"
Specs: Asus G74SX
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 9, 2009, 01:24 PM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default

it's look stupid, but can it be your power switch ? , and don't get the way you test it. try to jump the 2 connectors on the board with a screw driver, or just plug the reset switch on the power connector
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 9, 2009, 01:27 PM
andynerd's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 365
Default

i have done both of those also with no dice.
__________________
"let the geek be with you"
Specs: Asus G74SX
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 9, 2009, 01:35 PM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default

did you psu turn on when you try with the power switch or only when you try with my method of shorting the green wire ? ,
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 9, 2009, 01:51 PM
andynerd's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 365
Default

when i short the green wire it turns on when i use the power switch it does nothing. The motherboard is getting power though the standby light is on.
__________________
"let the geek be with you"
Specs: Asus G74SX
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 9, 2009, 02:03 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,946
Default

bypass the start switch to see if is faulty, using dime to short the start pins only
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old December 9, 2009, 02:19 PM
andynerd's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 365
Default

I said i already did that!
__________________
"let the geek be with you"
Specs: Asus G74SX
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old December 9, 2009, 08:32 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,946
Default

RMA time
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New PSU? headsh0t Power Supplies 7 November 21, 2009 12:48 PM
[WTB] Dual (same) 700W+ psu, or 1200W+ psu 3.0charlie Buy/Sell & Trade 12 October 7, 2009 07:07 AM
[WTB] CPU, Memory, Motherboard, Video card, PSU, Case, HDD wonton1017 Buy/Sell & Trade 3 July 9, 2009 06:39 PM
Using 2 PSU's? magictorch Power Supplies 3 February 14, 2009 02:39 PM
need PSU suggestions, current PSU isnt cutting it Rains Power Supplies 13 December 11, 2007 07:53 AM