Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 3, 2009, 07:22 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Swift Current, SK
Posts: 91

My System Specs

Default standoffs stuck on motherboard

So I'm switching to a HAF 932 now and on my MB there is standoffs attached to screws. I got a few off but some others seem to be stuck so I can't install my MB just yet. Any ideas on how to get them off OR can I somehow install it with them on? thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 3, 2009, 07:24 PM
Sagath's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Petawawa, ON
Posts: 2,493

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by icepizza View Post
So I'm switching to a HAF 932 now and on my MB there is standoffs attached to screws. I got a few off but some others seem to be stuck so I can't install my MB just yet. Any ideas on how to get them off OR can I somehow install it with them on? thanks
Grab some sockets and/or pliers? Whatever you do, dont install the mobo with standoffs in the wrong spot. You'll just fry/bust your board.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lpfan4ever View Post
AKG shot the hamsters, and then Perineum drove his Mustang with summer tires into the server.
My Disclaimer to any advice or comment I make;
Quote:
Originally Posted by CroSsFiRe2009 View Post
I'm a self certified whizbang repair technician with 20 years of professional bullshit so I don't know what I'm talking about
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 3, 2009, 07:45 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Swift Current, SK
Posts: 91

My System Specs

Default

Thanks, finally got em off.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 3, 2009, 07:58 PM
headsh0t's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 2,568

My System Specs

Default

Oh you people from Saskatchewan are so funny some times!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 3, 2009, 09:08 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,944
Default

most likly that happened .....wrong screws were used to mount MB, cross threading an jamming them in stand off
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 3, 2009, 09:59 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,144
Default

Agreed - you'd think a stupid little thing like motherboard standoffs/screws would have been standardized by this point.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 4, 2009, 08:41 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MpG View Post
Agreed - you'd think a stupid little thing like motherboard standoffs/screws would have been standardized by this point.
They are standardized. Almost all cases use 6-32 UNC screws for that. A notable exception is Lian-Li, who use metric M3-0.5 screws instead.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 4, 2009, 09:32 AM
Sagath's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Petawawa, ON
Posts: 2,493

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zero82z View Post
They are standardized. Almost all cases use 6-32 UNC screws for that. A notable exception is Lian-Li, who use metric M3-0.5 screws instead.
Metric for life!

x10 = easy.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lpfan4ever View Post
AKG shot the hamsters, and then Perineum drove his Mustang with summer tires into the server.
My Disclaimer to any advice or comment I make;
Quote:
Originally Posted by CroSsFiRe2009 View Post
I'm a self certified whizbang repair technician with 20 years of professional bullshit so I don't know what I'm talking about
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old December 4, 2009, 03:22 PM
headsh0t's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 2,568

My System Specs

Default

haha ya I was gonna say ya, they are standardized!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old December 4, 2009, 03:46 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sagath View Post
Metric for life!

x10 = easy.
Unfortunately, many industries are still based around the imperial system (thanks USA!).
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stuck Sensor - What to do? crazyhorsejohnny CPU's and Motherboards 20 May 22, 2009 09:57 AM
WU Stuck! Apollo4g HardwareCanucks F@H Team 3 May 10, 2009 04:12 PM
WU is stuck punk_zappa HardwareCanucks F@H Team 6 April 5, 2009 06:32 PM
stuck sensor? kyle_L Troubleshooting 2 March 13, 2009 11:13 PM
Standoffs Needed BALISTX Cases 13 April 25, 2008 10:10 AM