Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old September 19, 2007, 07:23 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,643

My System Specs

Default

That's what I did, sequence-wise... What I mean by no video is I see the POST, the Windows boot screen and then its black out. The power LED on the monitor goes out. No more signal. The PCI-E is selected by default in the BIOS (go figure...).

I'll try re-installing.
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old September 19, 2007, 07:36 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,643

My System Specs

Default

Instead of removing the card, I tried Safe mode - I'm in. The onboard video and driver are nowhere to be seen in Windows. Only the Ati is shown in Device manager. What could create such a conflict that there is loss of video in "Normal" Windows?
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old September 19, 2007, 07:37 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,529

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
That's what I did, sequence-wise... What I mean by no video is I see the POST, the Windows boot screen and then its black out. The power LED on the monitor goes out. No more signal. The PCI-E is selected by default in the BIOS (go figure...).

I'll try re-installing.
Ok, so it's definately a windoze issue. I suspect it's defaulting to using the on-board as main vid for some reason.

Hopefully a fresh install will solve the problem. Keeping my fingers crossed.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old September 19, 2007, 07:48 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,643

My System Specs

Default

I haven't re-installed yet... but odd conflict here. Rebooted, same black screen, but now I can see the icon of a mouse (the hand with the index finger pointing), then it's rebooting on its own?

I even tried the Secondary adaptor - a DVI. No luck.

Still trying...
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old September 19, 2007, 07:55 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,529

My System Specs

Default

Do you have a second monitor you can hook up to it so that you're hooked up to both the on-board and the ATI?

That way you can see if there is something you can do to get both working, and then figure out how to get the ati recognized as the primary.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old September 19, 2007, 08:00 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,643

My System Specs

Default

I'm still in safe mode (which works). Is there a way to take of this while it's viewable?

If not, bed is calling. I'll hook up a second monitor tomorrow night. It's a good idea.
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old September 19, 2007, 08:06 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,529

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
I'm still in safe mode (which works). Is there a way to take of this while it's viewable?

If not, bed is calling. I'll hook up a second monitor tomorrow night. It's a good idea.
I'm not sure.... I've never had much luck doing anything hardware related in safe mode.

You can check device manager to ensure that the onboard is disabled, and see if there is anything on the ATI device settings that would allow it to be set as primary.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old September 19, 2007, 08:18 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,643

My System Specs

Default

I simply un-installed the driver, and I'm back in Windows. So it's an incompatibility with the Ati driver. What's next? Another set of drivers? Do the Ati drivers still need .Net 2.0 to be installed?

Bed time for me - more tomorrow. Thanks Mr. Wilson for your help.
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old September 20, 2007, 05:51 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,643

My System Specs

Default

It's alive and kickin'! I re-installed the driver using Windows' Update Driver Software - and it worked. I also cleaned the drivers in Safe mode using DriverCleaner - forgot to that last night.

I've got a message saying that the driver is obsolete (???), I'm working that.

John
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anybody heard or used PNY Memory? chibi_man RAM 2 December 4, 2007 10:42 AM
Anyone heard of SLACO Computer? Cardboard box with DSL Off Topic 5 October 28, 2007 04:37 PM
Anyone heard about DTX? Misoprostol CPU's and Motherboards 4 April 3, 2007 10:30 AM