Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old September 18, 2007, 06:38 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,643

My System Specs

Default

I don't think my friend will make a case out of this 8x PCI-E slot. The X1650Pro will be faster than the onboard graphics anyday.

More tomorrow night.

John
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old September 19, 2007, 05:44 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,643

My System Specs

Default

I have the rig with me. It's a Phoenix Award BIOS. I went through it, and no option tells me to disable the onboard video. Unless it's an option that its name doesn't mean anything to me...
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old September 19, 2007, 05:49 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,529

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
I have the rig with me. It's a Phoenix Award BIOS. I went through it, and no option tells me to disable the onboard video. Unless it's an option that its name doesn't mean anything to me...
I'll go up and have a look at my daughter's computer right now... it's an Asrock 6100, but I believe it has a Pheonix Award Bios as well.

I'll also dig up the manual... I only ever ran my 6600 GT on it, but I seem to remember some hoops that needed to be jumped through to get ATI cards to run well on it.

Back in a few minutes.....
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old September 19, 2007, 05:50 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,643

My System Specs

Default

I am waiting patiently, while browsing the Award Bios site. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old September 19, 2007, 06:11 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,529

My System Specs

Default

Nope... the only selection in her bios is selecting primary vid (onboard/PCIe/PCI) and then mem size selections for onboard.

Nothing in the manual, and nothing in the faq for the asrock motherboard.

The problem lies in the fact that these boards (6100 & ATI 200 chipsets) were envisioned as multi-monitor setups where the onboard would provide a third port for a 3 screen setup.....

I think it's do-able, but it's a matter of which drivers to install first, and then disabling that card (via device manager) and then installing the next set of drivers.

I'll do some more research to see if I can find something more substantial on it, but in the meantime, did you try to install just the ATI drivers without CCC or the Omega drivers?
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old September 19, 2007, 06:17 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,643

My System Specs

Default

Thanks. While waiting I found that the mobo is a Foxconn MCP61SM. I'm going through the manual.

I only tried the driver, no CCC.

I'll reboot, uninstall the driver, disable the onboard video, shut-down, install card, re-start, install Ati drivers and hope for the best.

John
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old September 19, 2007, 06:30 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,643

My System Specs

Default

System is started with the card installed. I checked the adaptor and found the culprit: IRQ conflicts! It's between the card and "PCI Standard PCI-to-PCI bridge". Now, I never played with the IRQ. Any ideas how to solve this?

Thanks.

John
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old September 19, 2007, 07:05 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,529

My System Specs

Default

Silly question maybe, but did you try a c-mos reset after installing the new vid card to get it to re-initialize the IRQ slots?

There's also normally a setting in bios for forcing a new resource allottment.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old September 19, 2007, 07:09 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,643

My System Specs

Default

I managed to take care of the of the conflict by doing exactly that; IRQs are not a problem anymore. But... I installed the driver (only - 7.9) and rebooted.

No luck, no more video!

Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old September 19, 2007, 07:18 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,529

My System Specs

Default

Ok, how about this......

Try booting with the onboard (ati card removed) and then once you're in there, disable the onboard video via device manager.

Then install the ati card as per normal.

I'm sure it's a sequencing thing.

(When you say "no" video... do you mean no video in windows, or not even a post screen.... if there is no post screen... do you have the PCIe selected as primary video in bios?)
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anybody heard or used PNY Memory? chibi_man RAM 2 December 4, 2007 10:42 AM
Anyone heard of SLACO Computer? Cardboard box with DSL Off Topic 5 October 28, 2007 04:37 PM
Anyone heard about DTX? Misoprostol CPU's and Motherboards 4 April 3, 2007 10:30 AM