Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 22, 2009, 10:36 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2
Default Computer sometimes doesn't boot

I recently encountered a strange problem with a new build that happens occasionally. After sleep or shut down, when I turn it on, everything powers up for a second and then shuts off...then it tries to power up again automatically. This happens a few times until eventually it stays running until either the system starts up or it get stuck on a blank screen. If that happens, I have to turn off the power supply altogether.

Any thoughts? I've also started to notice that the fan noises aren't as consistent anymore, I can hear more "powering up and powering down". Maybe that has something to do with it?

OCZ Fatal1ty 700W PSU
Gigabyte P55-UD4P
OCZ Obsidian 4GB DDR3
Core i5 on stock cooling, not overclocked
Windows 7 Ultimate

Thanks!

Last edited by cheeseshredder; November 23, 2009 at 02:09 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 23, 2009, 04:39 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,845
Default

what bios version you using mite clear up some issues also check chipset drivers for MB

usally its a bad driver hang suspend mode

other may have a bad CMOS battery
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 23, 2009, 05:04 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,214

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KaptCrunch View Post
what bios version you using mite clear up some issues also check chipset drivers for MB

usally its a bad driver hang suspend mode

other may have a bad CMOS battery

+++

Get the latest drivers first, and then check for a bios update.
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 24, 2009, 12:31 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2
Default

Was using F3, now I'm on F5, problem still persists.

Tried and eliminated a bunch of possibilities:

Tried each ram individually, memtest86 okay, Intel Burn Test okay.
Unplugged unnecessary devices, problem still there.
Remounted motherboard, rewired to ensure no shorts (although I can't rule that out unless I run it outside the case, but my room has carpet)
Drivers updated

I suspect it's the power supply, but I don't have a spare to test. Right now 50% of the time it powers on normally. 25% it powers on for a second, powers off, then powers on normally (after 2-3 times). 25% it powers on for a second and stays off longer.

This is now happening in normal shut down as well as in sleep mode.

Any thoughts? Is this more likely to be the motherboard or the PSU? The PSU is new too.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 24, 2009, 06:07 AM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,845
Default

question are you using 2 moniters on that system?

if are need to set primary for the desk top unit
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 26, 2009, 03:19 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Cambridge, ON.
Posts: 493
Default

Check at tweaktowns gigabyte official forums you can ask there to

what you describe sounds like the gigbyte board may not be set totally right.
Go into cmos and see if a warning comes up right away about cmos bios settings.
Sounds like its doing a self test on start
in gigabyte board i have yur cmos cpu fan settings for automatic and manual settings to.
auto goes as load and manual is on full always.
__________________
Cambridge,ON
MSI Z77 M Power/Bios17.12
3770K@4.5ghz
Mushkin #997007
Noctua NH-D14
Gigabyte GTX 660
Seasonic X-660
Corsair 540 Cube
Intel Speed Demon x 2

using Prime 95 27.9



Last edited by tyreman; November 26, 2009 at 03:31 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 26, 2009, 03:48 AM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,026

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cheeseshredder View Post
I recently encountered a strange problem with a new build that happens occasionally. After sleep or shut down, when I turn it on, everything powers up for a second and then shuts off...then it tries to power up again automatically.
I have seen similar behavior before, but the machine works fine.

After pressing the power on this machine will turn on for about one second, then turn off for a second, then power on and boot like normal.

The only thing that matches your build is the OCZ PSU.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WAKE UP!!!! Prof. Dr. Silver HardwareCanucks F@H Team 29 September 13, 2009 09:30 AM
When I hit the power switch the computer doesn't respond! andynerd Troubleshooting 22 June 25, 2009 05:03 PM
Computer turns on, but doesn't start up. Kytael Troubleshooting 16 June 6, 2009 05:40 AM
bought some ram but doesn't pc doesn't want to boot Shadowmeph RAM 13 February 22, 2009 12:58 PM
wake on USB? the_bandit87 Troubleshooting 1 February 9, 2008 03:06 PM