Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 19, 2009, 05:24 AM
Varroa's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: National Capital Region, Canada
Posts: 746

My System Specs

Default Problem with Valve games and SSD

Ok, I have a problem and the guys over at OCZ can't seem to find the problem. I have 2 x OCZ SSDs, one for programs/windows and one for Steam/games. Both are now running 1.41 GC firmware one Windows 7 64x. When I was running 1.4 firmware with TRIM I would get over 50+ corrupt files in my steam games after playing (something to do with TRIM not being able to work when 2 SSDs are installed). I switched to 1.41 with GC and now I only get 1 - 2 corrupt files after playing (files failed to validate and are re-acquired). Does anybody have any ideas on why I am getting corrupt files after playing Steam games? This is driving me up the wall!!!! System specs below.
__________________
GAMER: Win7 Pro x64, I7 3770K (stock) (CM 212+), Asus P8Z77-V Pro, Gigabyte 7970 OC Ghz Edition 3 GB, Corsair Vengeance LP 4 x 4GB DDR3 1600Mhz, Crucial M4 120 GB + 256GB, Crucial M500 480 GB SSD, 1TB WD Blk, BRD, HX750W, Auz X-Fi Prelude, & Fractal Design Arc MIDI R2

Lenovo Ideapad Y510p: i7-4700MQ 2.4GHz (undervolted by 80mV), 16GB DDR3L-1866MHz, Intel GMA 4600HD / SLI'ed Nvidia Geforce GT 755M 2GB GDDR5, 240 GB Crucial SSD, 128GB M.2 SSD, 15.6" HD+ Glossy LED
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 19, 2009, 09:43 AM
Jack Rabbit's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 784

My System Specs

Default

Are you sure the SSD is part of the problem? Have you run the Steam game off your 1Tb black without problems?

What files are corrupt? Steam would not need to write hardly anything when you are playing a game; logs and save games and such. If you have texture files getting corrupt then something else is screwy.

Have you stress tested the system with Prime95 and memtest lately? Flaky RAM can cause file corruption or the appearance of it.

Have you written and tested files on the disk? Copy a large file (like a DVD iso) and repeatedly hash it. If the sums are not reliable then it is not Steam that is the problem. AFAIK Steam is unusual that it actually checks the integrity of its files and most games do not so you would have no way of knowing if they were corrupt. You could also hash your game files, then run the Steam game, then hash the files again after you play and see if steam is correctly reporting corruption.
__________________
He either fears his fate too much, or his deserts are small, that dares not put it to the touch, to gain or lose it all.
- James Graham
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 19, 2009, 11:14 AM
Varroa's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: National Capital Region, Canada
Posts: 746

My System Specs

Default

I am pretty sure it is the SSD. I originally had the games on the 1 TB black drive and they were fine. I backed them up before doing a clean installing of Win 7 . I then restored the backups onto the brand new SSD. OCZ forums support suggest I switch TRIM of and us the GC firmware instead. When that didn't work I did a proper format/cleaning of the SSD and re-installed steam and did fresh installs of all the games and I still got corrupt files. I also had a copy of a non-steam game that got corrupt (I believe it had corrupt files, a fresh install fixed the crashing of that game). When I was running TRIM there were so many corrupt files that the games would crash or not even load. Now they play fine and I can play for over an hour without crashes. It is only after I have played that I check the files before playing and afterward. Only after I have played does steam find corrupt files (so there are no crash logs anymore). I am not sure what files are becoming corrupt, Steam only tells you that "X number of files have failed to validate and will be re-acquired". The files that are downloaded are super small, maybe only a few kb. They take less than 1 or 2 second to download. My system was super stable in Win XP and survived many passes of Orthos but I have not done that since installing Windows 7.

I am thinking the next test is to return to stock settings and see if I still get corrupt files.
__________________
GAMER: Win7 Pro x64, I7 3770K (stock) (CM 212+), Asus P8Z77-V Pro, Gigabyte 7970 OC Ghz Edition 3 GB, Corsair Vengeance LP 4 x 4GB DDR3 1600Mhz, Crucial M4 120 GB + 256GB, Crucial M500 480 GB SSD, 1TB WD Blk, BRD, HX750W, Auz X-Fi Prelude, & Fractal Design Arc MIDI R2

Lenovo Ideapad Y510p: i7-4700MQ 2.4GHz (undervolted by 80mV), 16GB DDR3L-1866MHz, Intel GMA 4600HD / SLI'ed Nvidia Geforce GT 755M 2GB GDDR5, 240 GB Crucial SSD, 128GB M.2 SSD, 15.6" HD+ Glossy LED
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 19, 2009, 02:10 PM
bojangles's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Oakville, ON
Posts: 2,683

My System Specs

Default

Have you verified integrity of the game's cache? You might want to check those before playing a game. If it finds problems it will redownload that file and correct it.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 19, 2009, 02:22 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,058

My System Specs

Default

Try running your rig @ stock to see if the issues go away.
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 19, 2009, 03:36 PM
Varroa's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: National Capital Region, Canada
Posts: 746

My System Specs

Default

Nope, running at stock now and still getting corrupt files. Even re-flashed the firmware (while at stock) with no luck.
__________________
GAMER: Win7 Pro x64, I7 3770K (stock) (CM 212+), Asus P8Z77-V Pro, Gigabyte 7970 OC Ghz Edition 3 GB, Corsair Vengeance LP 4 x 4GB DDR3 1600Mhz, Crucial M4 120 GB + 256GB, Crucial M500 480 GB SSD, 1TB WD Blk, BRD, HX750W, Auz X-Fi Prelude, & Fractal Design Arc MIDI R2

Lenovo Ideapad Y510p: i7-4700MQ 2.4GHz (undervolted by 80mV), 16GB DDR3L-1866MHz, Intel GMA 4600HD / SLI'ed Nvidia Geforce GT 755M 2GB GDDR5, 240 GB Crucial SSD, 128GB M.2 SSD, 15.6" HD+ Glossy LED
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 19, 2009, 03:37 PM
Varroa's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: National Capital Region, Canada
Posts: 746

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bojangles View Post
Have you verified integrity of the game's cache? You might want to check those before playing a game. If it finds problems it will redownload that file and correct it.
That is how I am finding out the files are corrupt. I run it before playing a game and afterwards.
__________________
GAMER: Win7 Pro x64, I7 3770K (stock) (CM 212+), Asus P8Z77-V Pro, Gigabyte 7970 OC Ghz Edition 3 GB, Corsair Vengeance LP 4 x 4GB DDR3 1600Mhz, Crucial M4 120 GB + 256GB, Crucial M500 480 GB SSD, 1TB WD Blk, BRD, HX750W, Auz X-Fi Prelude, & Fractal Design Arc MIDI R2

Lenovo Ideapad Y510p: i7-4700MQ 2.4GHz (undervolted by 80mV), 16GB DDR3L-1866MHz, Intel GMA 4600HD / SLI'ed Nvidia Geforce GT 755M 2GB GDDR5, 240 GB Crucial SSD, 128GB M.2 SSD, 15.6" HD+ Glossy LED
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old November 19, 2009, 03:45 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,827

My System Specs

Default

trim caused some wierd problems with my torrents. corrupted files that is had to switch to an hd to fix the problem. only happened after i update too and i checked to make sure it wasn't anything else
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old November 19, 2009, 04:23 PM
Varroa's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: National Capital Region, Canada
Posts: 746

My System Specs

Default

Trim completely F'ed up my drive, I was getting 50+ corrupt files on each game, even before I had ever played them. I switched to the FW without trim and now I am stuck with only a couple of corrupt files and only on the games I play.
__________________
GAMER: Win7 Pro x64, I7 3770K (stock) (CM 212+), Asus P8Z77-V Pro, Gigabyte 7970 OC Ghz Edition 3 GB, Corsair Vengeance LP 4 x 4GB DDR3 1600Mhz, Crucial M4 120 GB + 256GB, Crucial M500 480 GB SSD, 1TB WD Blk, BRD, HX750W, Auz X-Fi Prelude, & Fractal Design Arc MIDI R2

Lenovo Ideapad Y510p: i7-4700MQ 2.4GHz (undervolted by 80mV), 16GB DDR3L-1866MHz, Intel GMA 4600HD / SLI'ed Nvidia Geforce GT 755M 2GB GDDR5, 240 GB Crucial SSD, 128GB M.2 SSD, 15.6" HD+ Glossy LED
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Valve working on 'other' stuff Dr_BenD_over Gaming 18 November 13, 2009 10:10 PM
ASUS Xonar settings for Valve games artistpavel Audio 2 July 8, 2009 07:31 PM
Pressure Relief Valve crispex Water Cooling 16 March 30, 2009 01:45 PM
g.skill 64gb ssd raid0 problem Phobia Troubleshooting 0 January 16, 2009 07:55 PM
Google to buy Valve cwestwell Press Releases & Tech News 15 September 18, 2008 04:28 PM