Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old November 17, 2009, 09:48 AM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

Well, there is acutally just one, according that win 7 and server 2008 use boot.mgr I think instead of boot.ini. But they all seems fine to me, they are like they were looking first time I set the boot and it was working fine for the last few months.
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old November 17, 2009, 11:09 AM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,955
Default

multiply OS's by chance did linux get on any of your HDD's ?

question what format drives using... fat or ntfs

forgot to ask have tried other KB ?
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old November 17, 2009, 11:15 AM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

have try multiple KB yes. I have never put linux on these drive and they are all in NTFS.
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old November 17, 2009, 11:15 AM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default

oups what a mess and the worst ... I know about the bootmrg ( in theory) .... too much XP repair not enoght Vista, 7 ...and you have a certain Martin who mention than in his boot.ini they are no mention of vista kidding

but it's about the same problem, but more complex.

have you try to use bcdedit.exe to edit the BCD ( that's the data base the boot manager use)

if I understand well you just put the old drive on the new board , so it's not a fresh install ?

I'm not too familar with the new boot manager... I will check tonight .. I have no vista. 7 or 2008 at work.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old November 17, 2009, 11:20 AM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default

Martin, in your bios try to select " no " in the PnP OS install .... so it will be the bios who select the keyboard not the OS... all true I don't know how it will affect the G11 software .
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old November 17, 2009, 11:32 AM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

I have never try that out. Let me 2 min to reboot and I will tell you some news.
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old November 17, 2009, 12:14 PM
MonsterSound's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: YYZ
Posts: 691

My System Specs

Default

Microsoft details on Boot Manager (Bootmgr) & Boot Configuration Database (BCD) store re: Vista/7/2008 with XP workaround.
2c
__________________
Code:
 my Heatware,  RFD &  eBay
MAIN: i5 3570 @ 4.5Ghz wH100 / evga GTX780 SOC / MSI Z77A-G45 / 8gb G.Skill 2133 1T / 30" 2560x1600 / Antec P280 / PCP&C 950w / Intel 520 SSD 240gb / Eclipse / G3-Lazer / z5300 / Win7 Pro64 / APC Xs1300
HTPC : nMedia6000B / AMD X2 4400+ / M2A-VM / Corsair 4GB 800 / LiteOn Blu-Ray / 8800GT / Samsung 46"LCD / 2x2TB / OCZ500 / ATI550 / Wrless Kbrd & Rmte / z-5500 / Win7Pro / APC700
"You must be the change you want to see in the world" 
- Mahatma Gandhi  
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old November 17, 2009, 12:20 PM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default

interesting... but I.m sure Martin know he should not install XP after win 7 .... and where is Martin ? it's near 1 hour now


Quote:
Originally Posted by MonsterSound View Post
Microsoft details on Boot Manager (Bootmgr) & Boot Configuration

Database (BCD) store re: Vista/7/2008 with XP workaround.
2c
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old November 17, 2009, 12:33 PM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

Do I miss you markone was tv time:P I never find the option PnP in my bios maybe I should search more. I will be out for the next 2 hour to. My first driver lessons the only problem is that I am 20 I will take a look at the MS site when I will be back. Ho and I have notice something, the option for USB enable was here in my previous GA board ( EP45-UD3P ) and that was the option I use to solve the same issue many month ago. If the option wont work on this board...it seems bad to me. Now I am happy to purchase this board from my workplace so I will be abble to return it or change it. I will still carry on finding the issue so my colleague wont have to do it before returning the board to the supplier. If you have other idea! just tell ;) if no then...the board will disapear sometime this or next week.
Thx all for help ( thx Markone)
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old November 17, 2009, 12:43 PM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default

I don't order yet ...sell it to me for $ 90,,,, so if it was you use to fix it last time....SEARCH FOR IT
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
i7 920 + GA-EX58-UD3R = ??? somecanadianguy Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 154 May 21, 2011 10:54 AM
DFI MI P55-T36 First Mini ITX P55 Motherboard FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 11 November 6, 2009 11:47 AM
EVGA P55 Mobo Lineup Revealed + P55 FTW Preview Comment Thread SKYMTL CPU's and Motherboards 11 August 22, 2009 11:31 PM
EX58-UD3R BIOS error... somecanadianguy Troubleshooting 0 April 12, 2009 09:56 PM