Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 11, 2009, 09:25 AM
tri5cui7's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Sackville, N.B.
Posts: 181

My System Specs

Default BSOD assitance

Hello everyone,
I'm having a bit of trouble. Ocasionally my computer will memory dump and go to BSOD. I have the following error report

Problem Event Name: BlueScreen
OS Version: 6.1.7600.2.0.0.256.48
Locale ID: 1033

Additional information about the problem:
BCCode: 124
BCP1: 0000000000000000
BCP2: FFFFFA800570A028
BCP3: 00000000B620000E
BCP4: 000000000002010A
OS Version: 6_1_7600
Service Pack: 0_0
Product: 256_1

I have not been able to find the problem and windows solution hasn't been much help. I was wondering if anyone else has run into this problem.
My set up

P5q
q6600
4Gb kinston value ram
9600GT pny
I have a Engenius USB N router
and I'm running Windows 7 pro, any help is appriciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 11, 2009, 11:26 AM
odis172's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 682

My System Specs

Default

124..i had that the other day when i was doin some overclocking.
Is it overclocked?
__________________
Laptop: Lenovo T420 - Core i5 2520 - 8GB DDR3
Server: 2 xeon E5530 - Asus Z8N-D6 - 12GB DDR3 - 8x 500GB raid 50 - Perc 6/i - Compucase RA448A00
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 11, 2009, 11:31 AM
tri5cui7's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Sackville, N.B.
Posts: 181

My System Specs

Default

I've over clocked to 3.2GHz. The core voltage is at 1.328V should I add more?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 11, 2009, 01:59 PM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 276
Default

Maybe that. Also, I've found that windows 7 doesn't address the page file distribution very well. Check your virtual memory settings. Mine was 1:1 by default, and MS recommends 1.5:1. I upped mine and haven't BSOD-ed since.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 11, 2009, 03:10 PM
tri5cui7's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Sackville, N.B.
Posts: 181

My System Specs

Default

Hey guys,
Thanks for the advice! I tested all the cores with prime95 and sure enough a crash so I upped the voltage tested again for 2 hours and no crash. Very nice!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 11, 2009, 03:25 PM
odis172's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 682

My System Specs

Default

glad to hear!
__________________
Laptop: Lenovo T420 - Core i5 2520 - 8GB DDR3
Server: 2 xeon E5530 - Asus Z8N-D6 - 12GB DDR3 - 8x 500GB raid 50 - Perc 6/i - Compucase RA448A00
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Getting BSOD's like a ***** Kayen Troubleshooting 20 October 31, 2009 01:07 AM
BSOD help! no_pulse O/S's, Drivers & General Software 5 September 20, 2009 07:23 PM
Help with BSOD plz Rocco_360 Troubleshooting 9 June 21, 2009 09:34 AM
bsod destroyerht Troubleshooting 4 June 19, 2009 03:02 PM
Why am I getting Random BSOD? bushwickbill Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 17 May 26, 2009 07:29 PM