Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 10, 2007, 03:05 PM
Trial Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1
Default New Rig won't shutdown

Just built new rig with Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L and e6750. System will not shutdown from windows, it always re-starts. I've tried several things:

unchecking auto restart after failure
disabled all "wake-on" functions
removed all unnecessary cards/started with bare minimum (PCIe video, 1 stick of RAM, HD, DVD-ROM)
Reinstalled OS several times (still reboots will just fresh install and MB chipset drivers)
Switched out PSUs
Checked all case front panel connectors

The odd thing is, in BIOS if I set Soft off - PWR BTN to 4 sec delay, it shuts off fine, but thats the only way I can get it shut off completely.

I'm just looking for any other ideas, Thanks in advance.

Considering RMA'ing the MB but wanted to check first.

System Specs:
Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L
Intel e6750
2GB Corsair XMS DDR2-800
BFG 7950GT
Corsair 450VX PSU
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 10, 2007, 04:42 PM
Jack Rabbit's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 784

My System Specs

Default

You covered most of the bases I can think of. I would have guessed a stuck power button but you checked that.

Did you replace the keyboard? Maybe it has one of those fancy soft power buttons and is conflicting with the BIOS or something?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 10, 2007, 04:51 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,468

My System Specs

Default

All I can think of is something funky going on with M$'s power saving features.

Did you disable all power saving features within the OS?

Other than that.... I don't remember if the gigabyte bios has a "hardware aware OS" setting... might be something like that.....

Did you try setting the bios to "default (or safe)" to see if it went away?
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 10, 2007, 04:58 PM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,246

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
All I can think of is something funky going on with M$'s power saving features.

Did you disable all power saving features within the OS?
Vista? Had my fill of their power saving options. grr

Ever check your Enter button on your keyboard see if it is sticking? Just had that happen on the wifes rig the other week, had me scratching my head for a few minutues until I realized what was going on.
Do a BIOS rewset like sswilson said, see what that does for you.
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 24, 2008, 05:07 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 33
Default

HAVE SAME PROBLEM HERE, but on the old system only my mother uses. so i dnt worry 2 much.

i have swapped out everything except the PSU, but you've already done that .. im stumped. i usually just turn it off and immediately cut the power lol ..
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to leave the water pump ON for X minute after shutdown neurobashing Water Cooling 7 September 9, 2007 11:40 AM