Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31 (permalink)  
Old November 5, 2009, 04:17 PM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,039

My System Specs

Default

*sigh*, I'll be interested to see if it does or not....
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old November 21, 2009, 01:23 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Richmond Hill, ON
Posts: 12
Default

Okay so, I got my new hard drive and I have way too much crap on one large partition (no, I didn't partition my drive) to backup so that it will fit on any sort of external storage that I currently own.

I was wondering if this would work:
-I setup my new hdd (WD 6400GB Caviar Black) and install Windows 7 on it (and set it to boot first)
-reinstall any apps and games I want on the new hdd
-Keep videos, music, and any other media on my old hdd (seagate 500GB 7200.10).

If this will work, how should I partition my new hdd to perform optimally for gaming (or rather, what is the most optimal distribution of data, software, games on this two-hdd setup)?
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old November 21, 2009, 08:59 AM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,039

My System Specs

Default

Just clone your old HD on to the new harddrive and keep the old hd around as a backup in case your new HD is a dud.

I use Acronis for my cloning software, I'm sure there are freeware type programs available if you don't already have it....

Or perhaps someone has a suggestion.... Hell, I just found out about imgburn a short while ago....
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old December 14, 2009, 04:05 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 15
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bryab View Post
Hi guys,

Long time lurker, first time poster. Sorry that it is.

Anyways, ever since I got my computer (second hand) and formatted it with Windows 7-64bit, I've noticed that there is a stuttering (pausing for fractions of a second) issue my computer constantly experiences.

My hardware consists of:
Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 500GB HDD
Q9550 processor
EVGA GTX 260 Core 216 GPU
2x1GB DDR2 RAM (CPU-Z says DRAM Frequency is 332.5MHz. Otherwise, I do not know much else about the RAM)
ASRock G31M-S motherboard
OCZ Fata1ty 550W PSU

My BIOS and video drivers are up to date.

I was wondering if someone can help me pinpoint what part of this build is causing my videos/music/seemingly all activity to stutter even when simply opening my Firefox browser or surfing the web.
ASRock still making motherboards that do this eh? Jesus.

It's the motherboard, I can bet on it. I have an ASRock upstairs that does this. ASRock is Asus on the cheap. I recommend trying a new board and ditching the ASRock. No offense but your build was NOT properly picked out, your components with an ASRock is just retarded. That mobo has 4 phases for the CPU, horrible. Unacceptable for a Quad Core.

Quick rule of thumb. Want a good system? Don't spend less than $100 on the mobo.
Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old December 21, 2009, 10:35 AM
0o0 0o0 is offline
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Toronto ON
Posts: 855

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bryab View Post
Okay so, I got my new hard drive and I have way too much crap on one large partition (no, I didn't partition my drive) to backup so that it will fit on any sort of external storage that I currently own.

I was wondering if this would work:
-I setup my new hdd (WD 6400GB Caviar Black) and install Windows 7 on it (and set it to boot first)
-reinstall any apps and games I want on the new hdd
-Keep videos, music, and any other media on my old hdd (seagate 500GB 7200.10).

If this will work, how should I partition my new hdd to perform optimally for gaming (or rather, what is the most optimal distribution of data, software, games on this two-hdd setup)?
Make 2 partitions on the blackie 640gb. Keep your programs and other stuff that you need fast transfer/access speeds to on the outer tracks, i.e. the first partition. Keep data on the inner tracks. It sounds as if the 500gb is dieing soon, from the looks of the hdtune graph the drive is gonna give up real soon. May be worth checking the smart data in parted magic. I'd say make the 500gb into one big partition, and maybe keep your /swap or pagefile in there.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Please Help - "My Computer" icons rearranged everytime I connect to my network. Magnetar O/S's, Drivers & General Software 4 October 5, 2009 02:29 PM
External Hardrive Freezing "My Computer" bobaban Storage 5 June 25, 2009 04:35 PM
Google Warnings- "This Site may harm your computer" CasheKicker Off Topic 19 February 2, 2009 10:07 AM
"Computer Friends" Andy Off Topic 4 November 27, 2008 10:58 PM
2nd HDD wont show up in "My computer" Lima Storage 3 October 11, 2008 07:38 PM