Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 27, 2009, 01:02 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 13
Default Problem after power outage...

The power outage may or may not be connected, but after a power outage I turned on my PC (it was on at the time of the outage) and got no video, beeps, or keyboard lights. I opened up the machine and took out a stick of RAM and it booted perfectly. I figured one of the sticks was faulty, but wanted to make sure, so I swapped the RAM sticks and it booted... not the RAM. I also ran memtest on both sticks and go no errors. So now my PC is running fine, but will not boot with two sticks of RAM (no matter what slots they are in). Any ideas? is the power supply or mobo shot? should I adjust the voltage on my RAM?

PC specs:

Mobo - Gigabyte P35 DS3L (rev 2?)
Processor - Intel C2D E8400
RAM - Mushkin XP PC2-8000 Redline 4GB 2X2GB DDR2-1000 CL5-5-5-12
Vid Card - 8800 GTS 512
Power Supply - Corsair HX520

No overclocking, everything is stock.

I am an experienced software user, but no so much hardware so I appreciate any guidance!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 27, 2009, 01:15 PM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,068

My System Specs

Default

My first thought is the Memory Controller is shot on the board now.
They run as singles, but the second you have them running Dual Channel they crap out.

Only thing I can think of off hand.

Regards,
ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 27, 2009, 04:56 PM
Sushi Warrior's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Grimsby, Ontario
Posts: 1,620

My System Specs

Default

Mobo problems most likely.
__________________
||EK Supreme LT Nickel||MCP355/EK X-TOPV2||EK150 M-O res||MCR220/White||NZXT FN120RB/FN140RB||
Project|Oroborous by NZXT and MNPC
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 27, 2009, 05:50 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,784

My System Specs

Default

Have you done a cmos reset yet? Are your memory voltages set to manufacturer's recommended levels?

My first inclination is that the power bump messed up the stock settings in your bios, and that a cmos reset (as well as setting mem voltages properly) will probably put things back right.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 27, 2009, 06:43 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 13
Default

Thanks very much for the replies folks, I'll try resetting the CMOS and have a look at the voltage settings on the RAM.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 27, 2009, 08:58 PM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,068

My System Specs

Default

Those Mushkin Redlines are 2.0 - 2.1v. I know, I have the same set lol.


ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
VMware error after power outage... somecanadianguy HardwareCanucks F@H Team 6 October 5, 2009 07:50 PM
Strange power up problem jack2006 Troubleshooting 1 September 4, 2009 10:47 AM
kelowna power outage bissa Off Topic 5 August 14, 2009 03:54 PM
BFG 800W power supply problem b1lk1 Power Supplies 35 March 24, 2008 08:36 AM