Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 3, 2007, 10:18 AM
kcksteve's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 67
Default -12v Rail and Poor Performance

Okai so the other day i decided to put a new sound card and networking card in my bros pc(PD 3.4ghz, crapy asus mobo w/intel chipset, XFX 8600gt 550w power up psu) after i did this instalation went smoothly but later when he rebooted we couldnt get video we removed the new cards and still no video then i reset the bios and used the onboard video to into the bios diable the onboard video and then we could video from his card again so now he's back to using onboard sound + networking but with a small problem. He used to get 70-100fps in CSS now he only get like 12, when i went inot the bios to check the temps it read -127*c so i konw thts not right and when i checked the voltages with AIDA32 they were decent except instead of giving me the +12v it gave me the negative (on my pc and my other bros pc it gave me the positive) and it was -1.25v, its the same with the -5v only readin -1.1ish.
so now im stuck i dont know if the card did something to the mobo or the psu is gone but the performance of his pc has gone down the drain (i told him not to use it for now till i can get it figured out)
any help apreciated
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 3, 2007, 10:20 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,580
Default

I would definitely be looking at switching out that powers supply.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 3, 2007, 10:30 AM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,881

My System Specs

Default

Yeah definately. Try taking the PSU from your case and putting it in his. If all works fine, then get a new, high-quality PSU. Perhaps Antec EarthWatts? Relatively cheap with good performance.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 3, 2007, 05:11 PM
kcksteve's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 67
Default psu

yah i have a atx 1.0 psu so im need to go get a new one anyways (running two 450w) any one have any other ideas or is this the culprit?
btw wht should the -12v reading be at -12v give or take?

Last edited by kcksteve; September 3, 2007 at 05:59 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 3, 2007, 07:28 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,416

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kcksteve View Post
yah i have a atx 1.0 psu so im need to go get a new one anyways (running two 450w) any one have any other ideas or is this the culprit?
btw wht should the -12v reading be at -12v give or take?
I don't think I've ever seen a -12V line be read properly by a software monitor.

Mine's currently reading -16.64V!

(I don't believe it... the other computer is reading -1.58V.... )
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 5, 2007, 04:55 PM
kcksteve's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 67
Default

i bought my new psu (cooler master extreme power duo 600w) and it didnt help my bro at all (temps, voltage readings)he can now play games at noram l fps back on his old psu so thts confusing. i went and talked to some guys from the local computer shop and they said tht i might be the fan reading the temp wrong, i thout the temp were taken from a monitor on the die itself not the fan? now he gets random crashing when he goes on games now im staring to think mobo or cpu/cooler could be bad
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old September 6, 2007, 08:14 AM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 169
Default

ya, look in there at the heastsink. Guaranteed it's just clogged right up with dust. Prolly wouldn't hurt to remove it clean, wipe off the processor/heatsink and re apply some thermal grease.
__________________
3800X2@2.2GHz--2gb PC3200--200Gb Maxtor SATA2--eVga 8800GTS 320mb--eVga nForce4 SLI mobo--Klipsch 4.1--Antec nine hundred case w/Vantec 120mm on side--Vista Premium 64bit

Join our Folding@Home team!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old September 6, 2007, 12:40 PM
kcksteve's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 67
Default

i already cleaned it and put OCZ silver paste on it a week ago, the clips seem to be a bit unsecure so im gona drill out the clips and puts ome nuts and bolts on it to tighten it all the way (stupid kingwin)
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old September 6, 2007, 03:52 PM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,445
Default

You need a multimeter to get a real voltage reading, never trust sensors esp when it is off by so much.

What temp was 127C? Sounds like something is not mounted properly.
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old September 7, 2007, 10:30 AM
kcksteve's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 67
Default

-127*c yah im gona make my makeshift mount 2dai
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Poor Richard Zednik Killswitch Hockey 2 February 11, 2008 01:55 AM
Single vs Multi rail PSU's durdy Power Supplies 1 December 30, 2007 08:16 AM
Poor 6800 agp performance after heatsink change ebdoradz Video Cards 9 November 28, 2007 07:50 PM
DOH! My poor truck cdn_Madrach Off Topic 12 April 19, 2007 12:27 PM
8800 GTX poor FPS Corpus Masochist Video Cards 5 April 18, 2007 08:38 AM