Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 11, 2009, 10:24 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 57
Default Labtop Troubles.

Ok,

So i left my labtop in sleep/hibernation mode for a about 2 or 3 days than i started up today got a start error, so i pushed the button agian and let it go through than i got a windows system recovery thing pop's up i go throught it untill i get to the pick a OS than there is no OS to choose! it goes like "unknown os in unknown local disk" i click load drives i see nothing there! So i restart same cycle Toshiba logo> 2 recover options (same thing happens) > Vista boot load screen > recovery options.

So whats up here have i lost any data? i don't want to lose my data? Has the 3 day hibernation effected it? Can a tech guy save my files?
__________________
New Rig FTW
E7400 @ 2.8 GHZ
HD4650 PowerCooler
600W PSU OCZ
GIGABYTE MOBO
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 12, 2009, 07:37 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,642

My System Specs

Default

Happens quite often. I never leave a laptop nor a rig in hibernation.

Your data can be saved, remove the HDD and connect it to another computer. Copy/paste your files.

Then re-install your OS.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 12, 2009, 08:14 AM
stoanee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lacombe Alberta
Posts: 3,250

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
Happens quite often. I never leave a laptop nor a rig in hibernation.

Your data can be saved, remove the HDD and connect it to another computer. Copy/paste your files.

Then re-install your OS.
Wow, epic OS fail!
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 12, 2009, 07:33 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 57
Default

Thanks guys!
__________________
New Rig FTW
E7400 @ 2.8 GHZ
HD4650 PowerCooler
600W PSU OCZ
GIGABYTE MOBO
Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
labtop troubles

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
computer as wi-fi modem troubles nick_black Troubleshooting 10 July 3, 2009 04:22 PM
pci-e lanes troubles phantom_jo Troubleshooting 6 May 13, 2009 03:02 PM
Wireless Troubles LaurentYe HardwareCanucks F@H Team 0 May 4, 2009 11:05 PM
PS3 F@H troubles Mr. Gruntsworthy HardwareCanucks F@H Team 12 March 28, 2009 01:20 PM
SVIDEO troubles the_bandit87 Troubleshooting 4 July 10, 2008 06:07 AM