Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 10, 2009, 12:28 AM
bissa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Kelowna BC
Posts: 1,173

My System Specs

Default MX1000 fatal error

after installing my new PSU (I doubt this has any effect, but I did have to pull apart my computer) when I started up my computer after plugging everything back in, my logitech MX1000 mouse wont work.
it starts installing but then the windows hardware install wizard comes up with "fatal error occurred during installation".
I have tried it in different onboard USB ports, a USB back plate that I installed, and on a hub and none of them worked, but it worked fine on my laptop.
any suggestions?
__________________
Strong like hummingbird, swift like oak.

I'm sorry july, I couldn't see you behind all that feruary.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 10, 2009, 01:17 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 3,710
Default

sure using the correct driver for OS ?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 10, 2009, 01:53 PM
bissa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Kelowna BC
Posts: 1,173

My System Specs

Default

well, it was working perfectly before I installed the PSU.
__________________
Strong like hummingbird, swift like oak.

I'm sorry july, I couldn't see you behind all that feruary.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 10, 2009, 02:05 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,848

My System Specs

Default

usb plugs not getting enough power had this happen many a time on clients machines. normally when the power supply is going
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 10, 2009, 02:26 PM
bissa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Kelowna BC
Posts: 1,173

My System Specs

Default

the power supply is a brand new corsair HX850W, the problem started when I installed it. I doubt it is dieing this quickly.
__________________
Strong like hummingbird, swift like oak.

I'm sorry july, I couldn't see you behind all that feruary.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 10, 2009, 02:29 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,848

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bissa View Post
the power supply is a brand new corsair HX850W, the problem started when I installed it. I doubt it is dieing this quickly.
Very good point
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 10, 2009, 03:36 PM
bissa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Kelowna BC
Posts: 1,173

My System Specs

Default

apparently I had a corrupted driver that I thought I had uninstalled, but since I had setpoint it stuck around without me knowing, so now that I had uninstalled setpoint I went back to check the drivers and deleted the driver again and restarted. when it came back up the mouse worked fine.
__________________
Strong like hummingbird, swift like oak.

I'm sorry july, I couldn't see you behind all that feruary.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[email protected] Error silent1mezzo HardwareCanucks [email protected] Team 2 September 15, 2009 02:39 PM
Fold Error Arinoth HardwareCanucks [email protected] Team 22 July 16, 2009 12:49 PM
never before seen error message newagebiker O/S's, Drivers & General Software 2 July 8, 2009 10:56 PM
fatal error help maurier CPU's and Motherboards 1 June 13, 2008 07:10 PM
SMART error tom.mullie Storage 3 April 28, 2008 06:20 AM