Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 9, 2009, 01:21 PM
Kayen's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 697

My System Specs

Default Getting BSOD's like a *****

This is reallllly annoying me.
Ever since i reaseembled my computer ... when i first booted i got "NTDLR (or something like that)" missing.
So i was like okay ... time for a reformat, so i wiped the drive, installed Windows 7 ... kept BSODing, even during the install .... took me 4 hours to get it ( many attempts , and my hard drive is slow as molasses), like , it pissed me off. SO i finally got it installed .... kept BSODing , and after a few times ... i got the "NTDLR missing" again. So i was like okay, be that way.

Installed XP, same issue as before.
I've tried clearing the CMOS , flashing a new BIOS onto the board, and i still keep BSODING LIKE MAD.

Heck, now the boot menu isn't even cooperated with me, as i'm attempting ot install Linux Mint.
It won't boot from CD , and i'm getting that that stupid NTDLR message...

NOT HAPPY.
Oh and during my antivirus install when iwas on 7, (and even last week , it said something about system time inaccurate, blah blah blah and it would affect virus updates).
OH, AND no IM CLIENTS HAVE BEEN WORKING ON EITHER CLIENT .. even after a wipe and reformat ... i'm getting the same errors with pidgin, windows live messenger.
WLM won't sign me in ... and pidgin just crashes.
I tried portforwarding.
Oh, and firefox keeps asking me about all this security crap. This one error started occuring after one hibernate, i don't know why these errors still occur even after reformat. LIKE HOW DOES IT CARRY OVER .

I am sitting on a P3, with below 100mb of ram. It's inconveivably slow. I want my computer to work T_T.

Any help guys?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 9, 2009, 01:28 PM
bissa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Kelowna BC
Posts: 1,160

My System Specs

Default

what is the error code? once you find that try googleing it. the error code is the hex code near the bottom.
__________________
Strong like hummingbird, swift like oak.

I'm sorry july, I couldn't see you behind all that feruary.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 9, 2009, 01:57 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: mtl
Posts: 106
Default

Heck, now the boot menu isn't even cooperated with me, as i'm attempting ot install Linux Mint.
It won't boot from CD , and i'm getting that that stupid NTDLR message...

Linux should have nothing to do with NTDLR



It sounds like you have a memory issue. Did you try memtest86?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 9, 2009, 02:01 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,613

My System Specs

Default

I'm thinking either dead ram, or dead HDD. Time to swap parts.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 9, 2009, 02:25 PM
Kayen's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 697

My System Specs

Default

That's what i'm thinking ... why am i getting that message when linux has nothing to do with that message.
HDD may be dead, but i have nothing but IDE drives.

Also, i BSOD's are too damn quick for me to get a message.
Anywho, i sent computer to an IT relative of mine, see whats wrong.
I have no parts to test with =S . All other computers in the house are older platforms.

Only newer platform is one i just received .. AM2+ board w/ Sempron (from lowfat) , and 512mb DDR2 ...
so only the ram is usable ..
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 9, 2009, 02:31 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,613

My System Specs

Default

Then use the ram first, then use the IDE HDD to test. If it confirms that the SATA HDD you have is dead, buy a new one and image the IDE drive onto the new SATA.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 9, 2009, 02:33 PM
Kayen's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 697

My System Specs

Default

Alright, i'll give it a try once i get the rig back.
A couple of the BSOD's had this counting to memory dump up to 100, then bam restart.

I didn't really pay much attention. because i was raging everytime i saw the screen .
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 9, 2009, 03:51 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,917
Default

check your power connections to HDD and the IDE ribbon cable. had killed a HDD due to loose power
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old October 9, 2009, 07:52 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: mtl
Posts: 106
Default

I assume your linux disk did not boot up properly and it tried to boot your hard drive...

anyhow.

to track your bsod code:

Right click MY COMPUTER and then PROPERTIES
Click ADVANCED and then click the SETTINGS button In the Startup And RECOVERY section
Uncheck AUTOMATICALLY RESTART. Click APPLY and OK.


Copy down the error code on paper.. and post it here

Like what I said earlier...

try memtest86, do a run or 2 and see if there is any error
then do a full chkdsk(scandisk) to check if there is any bad sector(or use disk tool provided by your hard drive company)

Chances are the following(similiar what charlie and I mentioned)
- Bad memory (memtest)
- Bad hard drive (chkdsk or disk tool)
- Loose connector(unplug and replug everything)
- Bad power supply
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old October 11, 2009, 07:56 PM
Kayen's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 697

My System Specs

Default

Bad memory according to my uncle.
But he says it's odd that when he tested each module seperately, in each slot .... just when both were used in conjunction there were problems in memtest.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BSOD help! no_pulse O/S's, Drivers & General Software 5 September 20, 2009 06:23 PM
bsod destroyerht Troubleshooting 4 June 19, 2009 02:02 PM
Why am I getting Random BSOD? bushwickbill Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 17 May 26, 2009 06:29 PM
Vista 64 BSOD encorp Troubleshooting 11 December 6, 2008 09:48 PM
BSOD error miggs78 Troubleshooting 9 August 20, 2008 03:22 PM